Book Buying Habits Tag

I was tagged by the lovely Giovanna @ Book Coma to do this tag, so thank you so much! This tag was a lot of fun to do, and you should totally go check out both her answer and her blog. I have serious theme envy right now, haha.

Where do you buy your books from?

Most of my books come from Amazon, the Kindle store, or Half Priced Books. I like the convenience of buying books online, but I also like the experience of going into a bookstore as well as the price point at Half Priced Books. I’ve got a whole discussion post talking about this, which you can read here.

Do you ever pre-order books, and if so do you do this in-store or online?

This is something that I just started doing this year. I do it online because a majority of the time I’m getting it for my Kindle, so I kind of have no choice, haha. It’s never occurred to me to go to a store for a release or pre-order because stores around me don’t do anything like that. It’s all very low-key.

On average, how many books do you a buy a month?

Oh goodness, not many right now. I used to have Kindle Unlimited and used that all the time, so I didn’t have to buy books.  Right now I’m just trying to get through the books I have already (if you missed it, I hauled all the books I got last month). So if I had to pick a number, I’d say 2 or 3.

Do you use your local library?

Yes, all the time! I’m sure that’s a big reason why my owned-and-unread book pile is getting out of control. Plus, they have an entire digital library where I can get Kindle books, so I use that most of the time just because I go to site and check out one while I’m a work without leaving my desk.

What is your opinion on library books?

As a future librarian, I love them. I think they’re a great way for people of all ages to experience a great book without having to put out the money for it. I completely understand where Giovanni is coming from about the germs though; some people do not care about the books that they’re checking out and treat them as their own property. This is why I own all three of the FSoG books; God only knows who does what with those books, and I don’t want to think about it. That’s another reason why the digital library is so stinking cool.

How do you feel about second hand books?

I love them! A majority of my books are probably from second hand stores like Goodwill or Half Priced Books. I love that I can get books in pristine condition without paying the pristine price tag. Most of the time you can’t even tell that they weren’t brand new when I bought them.

Do you keep your TBR on your bookshelf or no?

Fun fact about me: I don’t have a bookshelf and it kills me. Since I’m somewhat in the midst of redoing my room, I won’t for a while. My books are kept in a bench at the foot of my bed or stacked on top of a shelf where I keep my movies. I know, my movies have shelves but my books don’t. Also since I mostly read digital books, I don’t need a TBR shelf. Plus the fact that I don’t use a TBR list at all anymore. It made doing the Intimidating TBR Tag a little difficult, oops.

Do you plan to read all of the books you own?

Yes and no. Ideally, if I had all the time in the world, I’d love to read every single book I own. However, I have a ton of books that I bought from Half Priced Books on clearance when I was younger. I couldn’t resist the $1 and less price tags on them! Not to mention that they all sounded so interesting. I may still get around to them, but something tells me that they will either be resold or donated.

What do you do with the books you feel you will never read/did not enjoy?

I guess I answered this in the last question already. Ooopsies. Anyway, I usually give them away to friends, resell them, or donate them to Goodwill or my local library.

Have you ever donated books?

Yes I have and I plan to do it again. 🙂

Have you ever been on a book buying ban?

Funny you should ask, I will be starting one next month. I need to read the books I own! 😛

Do you feel that you buy too many books?

Yes, although you can never truly have too many, right? I just wish I had all the time in the world to read and/or do everything I want to do (like write. Haven’t done that in a while…my characters stopped talking to me).

I Tag:

Beth @ Hello Beautiful Book Blog
Emily @ Rose Red
Katie @ Katie’s Jumbled Thoughts
Anette @ Anette Reads
Melissa @ In a Bookish World

If you’ve already done this or don’t want to, don’t mind me. If I didn’t tag you and you want to do this, feel free!


Follow me on Twitter || Goodreads || Instagram || Snapchat

9 thoughts on “Book Buying Habits Tag

  1. Read Diverse Books says:

    I’m glad you to see many bloggers use the library. I feel guilty about not using my local library at all…but I love buying my own books to much D: And I have the money to buy a handful every month, so why not? haha

    I’m surprised you, a book blogger, don’t have a bookshelf! I suppose electronic shelves count too. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kenyanlibrary says:

    I love when I hear other bloggers use the library or used bookstores, I can totally relate to them 🙂 Shipping in Kenya (where I live) is expensive like… I can’t so I have to try my luck with the library or just scavenge old thrift shops 🙂 Than you for the post I loved it 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment