Mini Reviews | Playing Catch-Up

Soooo it’s Tuesday. I usually like to participate in the Top Ten Tuesday meme, but I’m not really feeling the theme this week. Instead, I decided to finally play catch up on reviews that I’ve tried to write multiple times, but couldn’t get out more than a paragraph or two for whatever reason. Without further ado, let’s get to it.

Talking as Fast as I Can – Lauren Graham

5 Teacups

Talking

My thoughts: This book, I put on hold at the library on a whim purely because I love Lauren Graham and her role as Lorelai on Gilmore Girls. I’d never read a memoir before, and I think that hers is a good start; it’s funny, it’s witty, and it’s a super quick read. I picked it up after finishing EOS and realizing that I hadn’t liked it as much as I originally thought I had. I loved that the voice of the novel was inherently Lauren and that you could feel the love she has for everyone around her. My favorite parts of the book were where she talked about Gilmore Girls; she sat and watched all seven seasons and gave her thoughts on them, which I thought was pretty cool and I learned a lot. Plus, the last chapter…it’s all about the new Gilmore Girls season. The whole thing just held of a lot of nostalgia for me, so I’d highly recommend if you’re a fellow Gilmore Girls fan. 🙂


King’s Cage – Victoria Aveyard

1 Teacup

KCMy thoughts: I’m going to be up completely upfront with y’all on this one; I hated it. I couldn’t enjoy the fact that we see so much of Maven because NOTHING HAPPENED. We already know that Maven is a master manipulator, we already know that Mare is prone to pouting (which she does for the entire novel), and all Cameron’s chapters did was make me hate her. Cameron came off as incredibly judgmental as she stood around and let other people fight for her freedom (while she judged them for it). The pacing of the book was painful, and we didn’t get any action until 63% into the book, and that was short-lived. I stopped reading at 75%, skipped the last eight chapters, and read the epilogue. Two things happened: I was disappointed with the ending because it wasn’t surprising, and I had no trouble following what happened despite skipping eight chapters. There’s also the little factoid that one of the characters is LGBTQ+ just because. I totally don’t mind these characters whatsoever, but this relationship felt forced and didn’t work for me. Sooooo I do not recommend this book, and I wholeheartedly believe that you can skip it and go right to th fourth book (which I will not be reading).


A Gathering of Shadows – V.E. Schwab

4.5 Teacups

agosMy thoughts: I’m actually really sad that this took me so long to read because I enjoyed it so much more than A Darker Shade of Magic. I got everything that I wanted more of from ADSOM; a deeper look into Red London, Kell’s relationship with Rhy (as well as Rhy himself), and more plot (albeit a little wonky at times). I thought that the Essen Tasch scenes were badass, and I enjoyed the fact that we saw them from various perspectives. It was cool to see how the other cultures that were introduced to us viewed magic. I loved the new characters we got, and Alucard gave off some serious Sturmhond vibes (which I don’t mind at all). The only thing that I didn’t like was Lila; I didn’t like her character in ADSOM, and I thought I was going to like her in this book up until a certain point. After that, her sense of self-righteousness was too much for me to handle and I found myself disliking her almost to the point of hatred. Otherwise, I enjoyed this book immensely and I’m ready to jump into ACOL.


This Savage Song – Victoria Schwab

3.5 Teacups

savageMy thoughts: The only reason I read this book before ACOL, is because my ebook loan was about to expire at the library. This book, especially after finishing AGOS, was just OK. I really liked the idea of it, I just needed better pacing and more information. We’re plopped into the middle of this world with monsters and enemies on opposite sides of town without any background information for a good chunk of the book. I liked the different monsters and I found them terrifying, and I actually really enjoyed the fact that there isn’t any romance for the plot to fall back on for support. Basically, as was my problem with ADSOM, I needed more development for everything. I liked August and Kate, but felt like they fell flat. The world had some development starting, but needed a little more to really click into place for me. I haven’t decided if I’m going to read the next one, because I don’t find myself all that attached to the characters or their story. I didn’t find the ending all that gripping or earth-shattering, so we’ll see.

3 thoughts on “Mini Reviews | Playing Catch-Up

Leave a Reply

