Monday Morning Cuppa | Alucard Emery

Good morning, everyone! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend, and your Monday is treating you well so far (I hope I didn’t just make the grammar police cringe). I wanted to apologize for the lack of posts on my blog; I’ve been reading books, it’s just that when I go to write about them I draw a blank.

Anyway, as I’m sipping a piping hot cuppa and burning a candle that smells like the Darkling, I’ve got an original rendition of Monday Morning Cuppa for you. This is a feature that I created to marry my love for books with my love for tea where I pick a tea and a character, share my reasoning, and write a quick review.

The Comparison

Tea: Sweet Lime || DAVIDsTEA
Character: Alucard Emery || A Gathering of Shadows
Reasoning: Sweet Lime is a mix of white and green teas as well as lime and mango, which gives you a fresh and tangy cup of tea. In the book, his cabin is described as smelling of “summer wine, and clean silk, and dying embers,” and the tea reminds me of the former. Whenever I think of a summer wine, I think of a sweet wine made from berries and citrus fruits, both of which are in this tea (plus DT also suggested making it into a mojito, so win there as well). The aroma of the tea is sweet, and the taste of it is sweeter until you get the punch at the end from the lime. I think this applies to Alucard’s personality because we see two sides of the same coin with him; the sea-faring captain of The Spire (the tangy punch in the taste buds), and the man who’s there to help a friend in need (the sweetness). The mixture of the teas reminds me of Alucard because he’s traveled the world and enjoys the finer things in life (hence the mixture of teas), but also has to balance life on land and on the sea (brewing either tea can be tricky if you don’t pay attention).

The Review

What I like

After my first cup of this tea, I wasn’t sure how I liked it because of how sweet it was. However, I realized that not only was my mistake sweetening it with light agave nectar, but using way too much of it. After trying it again and using honey, I found that it’s much more enjoyable and you get more of the tang that they describe on their website. I really enjoy that it starts out sweet and ends tangy or vice versa (depending on how much sweetener you use). I also really love the fact that you can infuse this tea multiple times without it getting bitter despite the fact that it does have green tea in it (which tends to get bitter after a while).

What I don’t like

I don’t like how quickly this tea can become sickeningly sweet. I don’t measure my sweetener when I put it in my tea, and if I’m not paying attention and/or being careful, I can easily make myself a cup that tastes like a piece of candy. Speaking of which, one of the ingredients is mango cubes coated in sugar, which you can smell as soon as you open the bag. It gives the tea a smell of candy, which I’m not the biggest fan of when it comes to teas. Thankfully, some of that smell (and flavor) is diluted once it’s brewed, so it isn’t anything that’s overpowering as you’re drinking.

Consensus

I recommend this tea if you’re looking for something a little different. It has white and green tea, apple, mango, blackberry leaves, and lime, which all marry together to give you a sweet tea with a tangy kick. I forgot to mention this earlier, but it’s also an extremely versatile tea that you can make hot, cold, or as a tea pop (think carbonated iced tea). I haven’t tried the latter yet, but I’m looking forward to it as the weather starts to turn within the next month or so.


Follow me on Twitter || Goodreads || Instagram

Leave a Reply

