Subscription Box Update

Hey guys, I just wanted to give you guys a little update on one of the subscription boxes I talked about in an unboxing post: The Best Damn Book Box. I mentioned that they were a little behind because of outside issues, but I didn’t mind because the box was worth it. I paid for a box that I was supposed to get in September or October, and it’s now the end of February with still no box. *insert exasperated sigh here*

The last update we got was in December saying that the boxes were being shipped out “soon” and she was sick. At the beginning of January, Cratejoy (the host) refunded anyone who subscribed from October on while also temporarily closing the store down to keep TBDBB from making Cratejoy look bad. It honestly wouldn’t be a big deal if they weren’t still updating their personal social media accounts or posting random stuff on twitter under the TBDBB account but they are, sooo something smells fishy here.

Basically, I’m just sending out a PSA. If/when they re-open and you decide to subscribe to it (despite the lack of boxes I actually received, their boxes are awesome) do so with EXTREME caution. The minute they start talking about a delay in shipping, get on the phone with your bank or credit card company and start asking for refunds (they don’t respond to emails either).

I’m so disappointed with the way things turned out, but something isn’t right here and I don’t want anyone else falling down the rabbit hole. I’m going to see if my bank wants to be super nice and refund me the $40+ I paid. *fingers crossed*

P.S. Have I learned my lesson? Sort of…I may or may not have signed up for another box that’ll be here in April. *facepalm*

7 thoughts on “Subscription Box Update

  1. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads says:

    Ugh I’m so sorry to hear this. I remember I was thinking about trying this box out and then everyone started saying they weren’t receiving things they paid for and decided against it. I’m glad I didn’t sign up but I feel so bad for all the people getting scammed by this company.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      You definitely dodged a bullet! I cannot recommend FairyLoot enough. They’re a little pricey but that’s because it’s international and it’s also so worth it.

      I’m hoping so hard that bank responds to me and gives me the refund. 🤞🏻🙈

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads says:

        I’ve looked into FairyLoot before. Right now the shipping costs are just way too much for me, but I definitely hope to try it out in the future. I’ve gotten OwlCrate a bunch of times and really liked their boxes. I just had to cancel for awhile because I’m kind of broke at the moment, haha.
        Good luck getting your refund!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. wonderfilledreads says:

    Yeah, I tried this box out when it first got started but cancelled after two boxes. I just felt that the quality was really lacking especially since the owner was making most of the goodies and I didn’t think they were worth the money at all. I’ve heard nothing but bad things about this company since then and am so sorry you had to go through all of that. I haven’t heard anything like that happening with other boxes so I hope you try out some other companies to find something much better! I really enjoy FairyLoot and Book Boyfriend (bi-monthly), and Uppercase is good too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      You were smart to get out when you did. I had skipped but that damn mermaid box piqued my curiosity. I have tried and LOVE FairyLoot and ironically, I just signed up for my first Book Boyfriend Box. I’m super excited! I’ve also tried uppercase and really enjoyed that one as well.

      Thanks though! It’s a lesson well learned in my end. 🙈🤦🏻‍♀️

      Like

Leave a Reply

