Ten Books I Liked More/Less than I Thought I Would

Welcome back to Top Ten Tuesday! This is a a meme hosted by the lovelies @ The Broke and the Bookish where we create lists based on a topic given to us for the week. This week’s topic is 10 books I liked more/less than I thought I would. I’m sure that most of these aren’t going to be a surprise if you’ve been reading/following my blog for a while because I’ve mentioned liking or not liking them to some degree.

I’m curious to see which of these you share with me, if any so make sure you share your post with me in the comments! 😀 Without further ado, let’s get to the books.

**Books titles are linked to reviews if I have one (which I do for all but TOG,  Cinder, & Red Queen).**

A Darker Shade of Magic. This one is the biggest disappointment on the list for me because everyone and their uncle loves this book. Then there’s me over here not understanding the hype over it. Did I enjoy it? Yes, and I fully intend to at least read A Gathering of Shadows, but was it the best book I’ve ever read? Nope. From the way that everyone talked, I was expecting it to be super action-packed with lots of never-before-seen-magic when instead, I got a story that was very much point A to point B with spurts of action between. I think it may have fallen victim to over-hype for me, which is a bummer.

Six of Crows. After finishing Shadow & Bone and enjoying that as much as I did, I wasn’t sure what I’d think of Six of Crows. In fact, I didn’t know what to think; I’d purposely avoided conversation about it so I wouldn’t fall victim to over-hype again. I had expected to enjoy the book because I liked Leigh’s writing style, but I hadn’t expected to fall in love with every single character. There isn’t one in the group that I don’t like, especially after finishing the duology. Crooked Kingdom only added the fuel to the fire and made my love them all so much deeper (I’m still working on a review, I promise). That was a pleasant surprise that I so desperately needed to kick-start my reading this year.

The Selection. Ughhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. I don’t think I will ever understand the hype over these books. I’m all about those fluffy-you-know-they’re-bad-but-read-them-anyway novels, but I could not for the life of me, get on board with these books. I had originally read them because I watched a review on YouTube where she talked about the trilogy (thinking back, she said she didn’t enjoy it as much as she thought).  America is just too frustrating of a character and the love triangle is too wishy-washy for my tastes. I wish I loved these books and understood what everyone else is thinking, but I can’t. Sorry guys. :\

A Court of Thorns and Roses. I know, I know, I talk about these books way too much, but hear me out. I’m pretty sure I’ve never divulged this, but the reason I picked up this book is because of how steamy it was supposed to be. The fact that it’s a retelling of Beauty and the Beast with faeries was just an awesome plus. So I went into this book expecting it to be steamy and sexy, and what I got was one of my all-time favorite books filled with love, action, and plenty of twists that reignited my love for reading (awesome trade, right?).

Empire of Storms. I honestly have no idea where I fall for this one (majority or minority). After first finishing the book, I loved it and I thought it ranked among the top books in the series for me. That was until I started reading and watching other reviews and thinking about that I read. My conclusion was that it was a good read, but the ideas where recycled and characters were shuffled and not themselves in the book. It wasn’t awful, it just wasn’t my favorite. I’m curious to see if anything changes with the Chaol book and/or where things will go in the final book next year.

Romeo & What’s Her Name. You guys, this book is so frigging cute. I’m not going to lie, I was super hesitant picking it up because of the ratings it has on Goodreads. However, I would say your safest is to go into the book with no knowledge of it (which is what I did). I think you’d end up finding that the book is a light, quickish-paced read. I found myself laughing at multiple points through reading, as well as relating to what the characters were going through.

Firstlife. I saw this book on Netgalley and immediately wanted to read it based on the synopsis. I was lucky enough to get an ARC, and sadly I was disappointed with quite a few things in the novel. I just wasn’t a fan of the love triangle that was trying to happen, nor was I a fan of the way Ten’s choice was handled. It was a huge focus of the book (if not the focus) and it was done in two sentences, which was a bummer. I’m curious to see what happens in the next one, though.

Cinder. For whatever reason, I put off reading this book for the longest time. I honestly don’t remember what I’d heard about it, but I do remember that I liked the book more than I thought I would (hence it being on this list).  Plus, it was a good jumping off point for the rest of the series (obviously…it’s the first book in the series, Carrianne. Haha).

Throne of Glass. After finishing ACOTAR and hearing everyone talk about Throne of Glass, I figured I’d give it a shot (you know, to kill time until ACOMAF came out. 😉 ). As I’ve said before and to other bloggers, I was promised a competition for assassins and what I got was a love triangle. We were told over and over how much of a badass Celaena was and we hardly got to see it. Thankfully, things pick up in the rest of the series and we get to see everything that she’s capable of doing (or close to it).

Red Queen. This book/series is catching so much flack for its lack of originality. I decided to push that aside and give it a shot and I found myself pleasantly surprised. I definitely got vibes from other books I’ve read, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying this book for what it was.


Follow me on Twitter || Goodreads || Instagram || Snapchat

3 thoughts on “Ten Books I Liked More/Less than I Thought I Would

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    I’m guilty of being an ADSOM lover! Haha. I think I just really, really love the world-building and the characters that the plot (which I think is also awesome) matters less. Different strokes for different folks and all that. 😉

    I’m semi-tempted to read The Selection bc it reminds me of The Bachelor, which I’ve just gotten into. HAHA. I wonder what that’d be like. Sorry you didn’t like it, though. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      Haha nothing to be guilty of for loving ADSOM. I’m actually really anxious to dive into AGOS. I’ve heard great things about it, haha.

      If you’re a fan of the bachelor, I think you’d definitely like The Selection. That’s probably why so many people do like it. I’m also not a fan of the show, lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

