Top Ten Books I Wish Had More/Less Romance

Hey, hello, what’s up? Today is Tuesday and that means that it’s time for Top Ten Tuesday! This is a meme hosted by the lovely ladies at The Broke and The Bookish where we compile a list of ten books based on a given theme for the week. This week’s theme is: Top Ten Books I Wish Had (More/Less) X In Them. In honor of Valentine’s Day next week, I decided to do more/less romance in them. I’ve got a lot of repeat authors/series, so I apologize in advance, but what can you do? It’s either that or smut……lol.

Books I Wish Had More Romance

  1. Shadow & Bone – Leigh Bardugo
    We all know that I’m majorly team Darkling, and while this book is my favorite in the series I wanted some sort of romance between the Darkling and Alina. Not Mal. Not ever.
  2. Glass Sword – Victoria Aveyard
    I feel like a lot of the problems stemmed from the lack of communication between Mare and Cal. I 10000% ship them, but they need to get their ish together and stop with the ‘we’re not good for each other’ crap. YOU ARE. I PROMISE.
  3. A Darker Shade of Magic – V.E. Schwab
    Some people probably like the relationship between Kel and Lila, but I need more between them. There’s a hint of flirtation but it’s just kinda….blah. (For lack of a better word, haha.)
  4. Crooked Kingdom – Leigh Bardugo
    I’m still working on a review, but ALL THE SHIPS SET SAIL. It isn’t good enough for me; I want more from everyone. I mean, I get why there isn’t more romance (it’d slow the pacing) but I need a teenie tiny bit more romance. A kiss or a hug or hand holding. SOMETHING.
  5. The Lunar Chronicles – Marissa Meyer
    So far I’ve only read the first three books and there’s a little bit of romance between characters, however I feel like there’s room for development. This could all happen in Winter, but so far it’s taken a back seat.
  6. The Hunger Games
    I loved this trilogy and the movies, but not once while I was reading did I feel like Katniss truly loved Gale and/or Peeta. Therefore, this whole love triangle idea felt nonexistent to me but she’s torn between the two and trying not to make Gale jealous but was there really anything there?

Books I Wish Had Less Romance

  1. Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas
    I love the series, but this book was exactly the strongest start to it. My biggest critique is that we’re promised this whole competition and all we get is a kind of love triangle thing. I wanted to see more of Celaena’s skills as an assassin. She’s supposed to be Adarlan’s Assassin for god’s sake.
  2. Siege & Storm – Leigh Bardugo
    As I said in my review, the romance undoubtedly inhibited plot progression and character growth. Alina spent way too much time trying to fix her relationship with Mal while bigger things were happening that she needed to give attention.
  3. The Elite – Kiera Cass
    Ughhhhh this book. I’m surprised that I didn’t have whiplash after reading it. I fully understand that Kilorn’s presence puts a little bit of power back into America’s hands, however she is way too wishy washy between the two poor boys. She constantly went back and forth between the two if they said or did something that wasn’t absolutely perfect. I needed less boy-crazy and more character development for her.
  4. Empire of Storms – Sarah J. Maas
    I really enjoyed this book but i’m not a fan of that fact that each character is now paired up in some way or another. There’s one in scene in particular that I read and I was just like, “ooook why did I just read that?” Especially when much bigger things were happening during that time that we don’t get to see and find out about at the end of the book. Something shifted and it’s made everything weird between the characters I think.

Follow me on Twitter || Goodreads || Instagram || Snapchat

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Wish Had More/Less Romance

Leave a Reply

