Monday Morning Cuppa: DAVIDsTEA Advent Calendar Review

Good afternoon and happy Monday my fellow book lovers and tea enthusiasts!

Welcome to my first MMC post of 2017. Since I’m still getting back into the swing of things, I decided to do a quick review of the 24 Days of Tea Advent Calendar that I purchased from DAVIDsTEA.

900534us01var0025869-bi-1-2132It should be no secret that I love tea; it’s in my blog name, I created a weekly feature about tea, and if you know me in real life, you’d know that it’s one of the first things I tell people to drink when they’re sick (seriously, I swear by it). This advent calendar is quite the hot commodity once the holiday season hits, so I decided to splurge on myself and snag one while the store had it in stock.

Basic Information


davids-tea-advent-calendarPrice:
$40 USD
Teas Included: hot chocolate, snow day, cardamom french toast, coconut cream pie, coffee cake, English toffee, forever nuts, bear trap, kashmiri chai, chocolate covered almond, spiced apple, sweet almond green, creme caramel rooibos, genmaicha, sleigh ride,
strawberry rhubarb parfait, jumpy monkey, santa’s secret, green passionfruit, Irish breakfast, serenity now, ginger pear, apple cider.

Things I Liked

  • Despite the price point and how small the containers appear, you’re getting a lot of tea.  (I’d go so far as to say 3-6 cups of each tea.)
  • Each container is packed full to the brim with a new tea to enjoy.
  • It’s a great way to sample different teas DT has to offer without the commitment of a large container.

Things I Didn’t Like

  • Despite having 24 days of ‘different’ teas, there wasn’t a ton of variety in them.
  • Directions for making each tea weren’t clearly marked. I spent the first couple of days looking it up on the internet before I figured out they were on the bottom of each little drawer.
  • I was disappointed with a majority of the teas included in the calendar (they either tasted the same or had a plastic taste).
  • The teas weren’t special or exclusive to the calendar.

Consensus

Would I recommend this calendar based on this one year? No. If you wanted to try teas, I’d highly recommend getting one of the collections they release each season for specialty teas or one of the year-round samplers. They cost a little less, and while you’re not getting 24 different teas, you’re getting an entire collection with 1-2 oz bags of each tea.  Sometimes they come with something extra as well (the collection I got came with a pack of tea sachets). Since they also failed to include any exclusive teas in the calendar, I could’ve easily gone and bought the holiday teas I wanted try in one of the many sampler formats they had available.

Jury’s out on whether or not I’m going to give this one a shot again. You can see the teas on the back of the calendar before you purchase it, so I’ll have to take a look and see what they did. If I see more of the same, I’ll skip it and save myself the $40. If you guys like, I can do another post reviewing the teas themselves since I kept things a little vague today. Let me know what you think. 🙂


Follow me on Twitter || Goodreads || Instagram || Snapchat

3 thoughts on “Monday Morning Cuppa: DAVIDsTEA Advent Calendar Review

Leave a Reply

