Monday Morning Cuppa #11 | Homemade Tea Lattes

Happy Monday, everyone!

Today I’m coming at you with the new and improved Monday Morning Cuppa. This is a feature that I created where I take a tea that reminds me of a book character, tell you why, and then write a quick review of the tea. However, I’ve decided to improve and expand upon that to also include other tea related posts; this way, when I can’t think of a tea/character combination, I don’t have to skip a week. We’ll see how it works out, yeah?

Anyway I don’t know about you, but once the fall and winter roll around, I’m sipping hot lattes from Starbucks as if my life depends on it. Pumpkin Spice Latte? Yes, please. Gingerbread Tea Latte? I found Heaven on earth. As a ‘broke’ college student I don’t want to drop my hard-earned cash on a $4-$5 latte every time I have a craving. If you feel the same way I do, this post holds the solution you’ve been searching for: homemade tea lattes. The beauty with this is that you can make both hot and iced lattes at home.

Enough of my blabbering, let’s get to the how-to!

Tea Latte SuppliesWhat You Need:

  • Tea of your choice (I’m using Pumpkin Chai from DAVIDsTEA)
  • 4 oz. water
  • 4 oz. milk of your choice
  • Kettle/Something to boil your water.
  • Tea Infuser (I’m using this one, but there’s a ton on Amazon, like this guy!)
  • Sweetener (optional)
  • Frother/Mason Jar
  • Spoon
  • Timer
  • Measuring spoon(s) (optional if you’re using tea bags!)

What You Do:

Step 1:

Start by measuring out your water and placing that in your kettle to boil. (The temp. you need depends on what kind of tea you’re using.)

Step 2:

IMG_1711As you wait for your water, measure twice the amount of tea you normally use to make one cup (8 oz.) and place that in your infuser. We need the tea to be nice and strong, so we don’t lose any flavor when we add our milk.

IMG_1712Step 3:

Once your water is boiling, pour it into your infuser, making sure to completely saturate the tea. We’re going to set our timers for 5 minutes and let it sit!

Step 4:

IMG_1713While the tea is brewing, heat your ½ cup of milk until it’s steaming (about 45-90 seconds). I’ve found that the warmer the milk, the better the foam and taste. Once that’s done, you make your froth; I use a cheap little handheld frother I found on Amazon. If you don’t have a frother, you can use a mason jar! For iced tea lattes, you can froth your milk and skip to step 5 without steaming.

IMG_1770Step 5:

Once 5 minutes are up, remove the infuser, add your [optional] sweetener to taste, and pour into a mug if you haven’t already done so. (If you’re making an iced latte, add ice to your mug/glass and pour your brewed tea over the ice.)

Step 6:

Finished Tea LatteUse a large spoon to hold back the froth you made and pour your steamed milk into the mug with your tea. As the liquid runs out, remove your spoon and allow the foam to fill the balance of the mug. I also added a little bit of pumpkin pie spice on top just to make it pretty.


Voila! You’ve made your very own tea latte!

I’ve been experimenting, and found that chai teas, dessert teas, and creamier teas make the best lattes. Experimenting is half the fun though, and your only limitations are your imagination! (Cheesy I know, but oh so true.) I hope you found this helpful! Happy tea latte-ing! 😀


Follow me on Twitter || Goodreads || Instagram || Snapchat

3 thoughts on “Monday Morning Cuppa #11 | Homemade Tea Lattes

Leave a Reply

