Harry Potter Tag

Hellooooooo again! I am on a roll and playing catch up with the lack of posts I had this summer. I was tagged by The Sassy Book Geek (who you may know as Heather) to do the Harry Potter Tag! If you don’t already follow her, you should definitely drop by and check out her blog because her content is on point.

Huge thanks to Lashaan and Trang from Bookidote for creating the graphics that I used in this post. There’s only one rule for this tag: you can’t use Harry Potter books in your answers.

Let’s get to it!

flagrate

A book where you found the theme interesting , but you’d like to rewrite it.

27207898

The Sea Witch – S.J. Valfroy

If you read my review for this book, you’d know that it was absolutely infuriating for me to get through. It’s a Little Mermaid retelling told from Serena, the sea witch’s, point-of-view; that being said, I knew that at some point things had to take a turn for worse. I mean, she ends up being “evil.” However, I feel like things weren’t handled very well, which made me so angry while I was reading it. (If you want to know what specifically made me angry with spoilers, check out my review.)

alohomora

The first book in a series that got you hooked.

13578987

Shadow and Bone – Leigh Bardugo

I’ve heard nothing but good things about Six of Crows since it came out, and consequently, have been dying to read it. However, since it takes place in the Grisha universe,  I wanted to at least read the first book in the Grisha Trilogy to get a taste of things (and to see if I liked Leigh’s writing). I gobbled the book in a couple of days, and bought the rest of the trilogy. Now, whether or not I’ve read the rest of the trilogy is a different story. It has nothing to do with the books themselves, it’s because of my stupid slump.

accio

A book you wish you could have right now.

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don't. As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear. Aelin's journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

Empire of Storms – Sarah J. Maas

ONE MORE MONTH. I finished Queen of Shadows in December and I’M DYING to know what happens. Plus, Sarah announced a new publishing deal where she’s going to release a novella about Chaol, and all the books will have different short stories in them (depending on where you get them. Not cool Bloomsbury, not cool.). I need this book in my life, and I need it now. Patience is not exactly my virtue right now. I’ve got way too many exciting things and too little patience to wait for them.

avadakedavra

A killer book. Both senses. Take it as you like.

I Hunt Killers

I Hunt Killers – Barry Lyga

I said in my review that this book is a million miles outside of my comfort zone, which is still an accurate statement. We follow Jasper Dent, the son of an infamous serial killer,  as a string of murders start occurring. As Jasper realize that they’re mimicking his dad’s murders almost perfectly, he tries to help the cops figure out where the next one will be. Barry describes everything so perfectly and makes Jasper’s struggle to not become his father so real, I was almost a little worried about him. It felt like I was in the head of a serial killer (or at least how I imagine it would be). Good writing, great characters, and a creepy as hell plot. I’d recommend it.

confundo

A book that you found really confusing.

The Love that Split the World

The Love that Split the World – Emily Henry

As I wrote my review for this book, I really struggled. By the time I had finished the book, I was more confused about why things had happened than when I started reading. Emily Henry loves info-dumps, and toward the end we get a HUGE one that tries to explain everything. She didn’t do a very good job. The books is fairly good, but you may have to reread that section a few times to know what’s going on. I didn’t have the patience to do so.

expectopatronum

Your spirit animal book.

ACOMAF

A Court of Mist & Fury – Sarah J. Maas

I don’t want to give away too much, but one word: Rhys. We see so much of him in this book and I loooooove iiiiiiit. Plus, that ending…and now there will be two more books in the series…I just can’t handle it. lol You can read more about my love for Rhys in my review.

spetumsemtra

A dark, twisted book.

My answer for this is the same as Avada Kedavra. I don’t read dark books a lot, so I only have the one in my arsenal.

adaasd

A book that surprised you in a great way, reveals to be more than it is.

Simon

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda – Becky Albertalli

This was my first rave review for the year because this book is just so damn good. I knew that it was about a gay seventeen-year-old boy, but I did not know that it was so much more than that. Becky did a great job creating relatable characters and friendships that you find in everyday life. I cannot recommend this book enough.

nominees

As always, if you’ve already done this or don’t feel like it, no pressure! Feel free to do this if I didn’t tag you directly.

Emily @ Rose Read

Emma @ The Book Brief

Kristen @ The Bookish Introvert

Hannah & Lindsay @ Untamed Shrews

Fiona @ Booklighting

Ara @ The Bookish Agenda


Follow me on Twitter || Goodreads || Instagram || Snapchat

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter Tag

Leave a Reply

