The Book Courtship Tag

Huge thank you to Michelle @ The Writing Hufflepuff for tagging me to do this! I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to get around to it. School got super crazy there for a couple of weeks, but I’m hoping to slowly get back into the swing of things soon. 🙂 If you haven’t already, I think you should go check out her blog; it’s so cute and I’m in love with her graphic(s).

Phase One

Initial Attraction: A book you bought because of the cover.

Queen of SomedayI still have no idea what this book was about, but I “bought” it because it was free on Amazon and the cover was gorgeous.


Phase Two

First Impressions: A book you got because of the summary.

ACOTAR coverAll of them? However, if I had to pick one book that I got purely because it sounded good and I hadn’t heard anything about it, it would be A Court of Thorns and Roses. Initially, I picked up the book because it was supposed to be steamy (which it had its moments), but then got hooked because of the retelling aspect.

 

 

 

 


Phase Three

Sweet Talk: A book with great writing.

19547856I’m gonna have to go with my new friend Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. I really loved how real Becky wrote her characters and the relationships between all of them. It felt like a contemporary novel, but with much less drama/angst. I loved it! (Which you can read about by clicking on the link above.)

 

 

 

 


Phase Four

First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pursue the rest of the series.

13578987Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo. I gobbled up this book and fell in love with the Darkling. I have yet to read the rest of the series, even though I bought the other two pretty much right off the bat. If you ask me why, I’m just going to attribute it to The Great Slump of 2016.

 

 

 

 


Phase Five

Late night phone calls: A book that kept you up all night long.

24999714Maybe not all night long, but definitely up late was Queen of Shadows. I could not put that damn book down because things toward the end got so intense. Plus, Rowan.

 

 

 

 

 


Phase Six

Always on my mind: A book that you could not stop thinking about.

17927395My real answer for this is A Court of Thorns and Roses, but since I already said that, I’ll go with its sequel, A Court of Mist and Fury. The ending to that book had me reeling, plus we got to see much more of Rhys, whom we all know I love.

 

 

 

 

 


Phase Seven

Getting Physical: A book in which you love the way it feels.

Ahem, well….I read mostly eBook sooo none of them?


Phase Eight

Meeting the Parents: A book in which you would recommend to your friends and family.

A Darker Shade final for IreneEven though I had totally mixed feelings about it, I’d go with ADSOM by V.E. Schwab just because it totally had elements that I enjoyed immensely. Plus, it wasn’t too romance or action heavy; I’d say it had a nice balance of everything.

 

 

 

 

 


Phase Nine

Thinking about the future: A book or series that you know you’ll re-read many times in the future.

7741325I really enjoyed reading this book toward the end of last year. It’s a light, quick read and I love the adventures that Dash and Lily go on as they try to complete their dares. Plus, it’s written by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan, both of whom are also the authors of my all-time favorite book Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist.

 

 

 

 


Phase Ten

Share the love! Here’s who I am tagging:

Reg @ She Latitude

Anna @ My Bookish Dream

Angie @ Thoughts of an Avid Reader

The Green Onion Blog

Milou @ Simply a Book Drunkard

9 thoughts on “The Book Courtship Tag

  1. Michelle says:

    Aww don’t apologise that it took you a while to get to it! I recently scheduled some tags that I was tagged in like a year ago soo 😂 Definitely agree on Simon! Her characters and their relationships with each other were great to read about!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

