5 Reasons Why I Love Libraries

Hello again! In honor of me officially starting my library information science classes next week, I wanted to talk about 5 Reasons Why I Love Libraries. I’ve loved the library for as long as I can remember; I loved going as a kid and playing with the puzzles for as long as my mom would let me or coming home with bags full of books. That being said, here are 5 reasons why I libraries so darn much.

They nurtured my imagination from a young age.
As I said in my introduction, I’ve loved going to the library for as long as I can remember. I lived for library days when I was in school because it meant that I got to wander through the library and look at all the cool books they had to offer. I left no book unturned as I wandered from section to section looking at books about woolly mammoths or dinosaurs. Before I started school, I loved looking at the puzzles and doing those while my mom looked at other stuff. I even had a library card for the local library in Ohio where my grandma lives. I also brought home as many books as she allowed and they even had these bags you can check out that had play-sets. So I could pretend to be a doctor, or a chef, etc. My favorite thing ever were the summer reading programs; each summer I signed up and had a certain number of books to read. Once I reached a certain number, I had to go back in and I’d receive some sort of incentive (bookmarks, coupons, gift cards, etc). At the end of everything, I received a free book. Who doesn’t love free books??

Libraries offer more than just books.
As an adult, I can definitely appreciate this more than when I was a child. It’s such a great place to go for for resource in any format you might need; they have print, online, and in-person (hey there fellow librarians!). If it’s a school library (like a community college for example) you get access to the databases where there are thousands of articles and essays at your disposal to use in your papers. If you’re not looking to research anything, they have free WiFi and/or computers to use. There was one summer when I was 12 or 13 that I was always at the library using their computers to go on MySpace. My parents wouldn’t allow me to go on it at home, so I found a loophole. Nowadays when I walk through the library, I see a lot of kids doing somewhat of the same thing. They’re all playing online games together and it’s kind of endearing to watch because they get so into it.

Offers a constructive place where kids can hang.
This might not apply to all public libraries, but most of the local libraries around me have areas that designated for both kids and teens. The library that I applied for a job at has a newly renovated teen area that has couches, desks, tables with stools and a cute little cafe to get coffee or something else to drink. When I was younger, we didn’t have these things at our disposal, and while we were able to walk down to library after school, I think we more of nuisance for the poor librarians than anything else. We didn’t have special rooms to sit down and hang out, and instead just sat at tables and talked loudly enough to disturb people around us (I’m assuming this, although I usually ended up in a study room with my friends). Now with all of these cool rooms and new computers for kids to hang out, they have someplace to be that’s not roaming around time aimlessly or sitting at home and watching TV. (Although arguably, being on the computer isn’t much better, if at all.)

Sense of Community.
It’s been killing me not to mention any of this until now, but most of the local libraries around me offer a ton of different programs that helps bring the community together. I was just looking over the events calendar and the number of events they have is overwhelming! At just a glance, I saw that they offer Baby Time, Toddler Time, Study sessions, Zumba classes, craft times, etc. It’s so stinking cool! I remember going to a class as a kid and learning how to make a wallet out of duct tape. I don’t think I ever used the thing, but it was so cool riding my bike up to the library with my sister and going in  for this class. It gave us something to do during the summer. I wish they would’ve had more of this stuff when I was younger because I’m so jealous, haha.

Refuge for Learning.
I love going to library to study. It’s quiet and it’s free of distractions such as the lure of Netflix calling my name or my dog absolutely needing snuggles instead of me studying. Plus, there’s a plethora of resources available to me if/when I need them. If I’m completely honest though, this is something that I don’t as often anymore just because I’ve grown incredibly lazy.  However, it’s an incredibly viable option for studying when I really need to hunker down and get work done (which will probably be soon with the two classes that I start next week).

That’s it! I could drone on forever about how much I love the library and how it’s impacted my love for reading in such a big way, but I will spare you from my rambles.

What do you love most about libraries? Why do you think they’re so important? Do you think that they’re eventually going to fade out? Let’s talk!


Follow me on Twitter || Goodreads || Instagram || Snapchat

11 thoughts on “5 Reasons Why I Love Libraries

    • Carrianne says:

      It really is! I’m mostly jealous of the kids programs my library offers and the new section they just built. They didn’t have stuff when I was a kid (or maybe I didn’t have someone to take me).

      Liked by 1 person

  1. kenyanlibrary says:

    Libraries are so important 🙂 this post just made me appreciate my library even more, the silence and being with a group of readers is just comforting 🙂 This was a really positive post thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      No problem! Thanks for taking the time to read and comment. I love going to my library (in case this post didn’t make it obvious, haha) but I need to visit it more often. I’ve become such a homebody lately.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      You’re most welcome. 🙂 They really do open doors. I remember so many adventures as a kid that I had thanks to the library. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

    • Carrianne says:

      I’m kind of jealous of you! I applied for a job at a library but found out that they had already filled it by the time I applied. Bummer. This post made me super nostalgic, but also opened my eyes to all of the awesome resources and activities they open to adults now. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

