Top Ten Tuesday || Ten Beach Reads & Necessities

Welcome to another edition of Top Ten Tuesday! This is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where we’re giving a topic for the week, and we make a list of ten or so things that fit that topic. This week’s topic is about the beach! I went through a few different ideas for this week, and went with none of them, so I decided to talk about my Top Ten Beach Reading Necessities.

I know, you’re probably like, “Um I’m here for the book aspect of this.” I got you covered. I was feeling particularly inspired this week, so this post is a little more involved than what I usually do, haha. I’ve split into two halves: beach necessities and books I’ll be reading this summer. Enough of my jabbering though, let’s get to the post!

Beach Necessities

Umbrella
I usually like to bring some kind of a sunshade or umbrella with to sit under. One year  I went to one of the beaches in the city and came back with at least second degree sunburns. That, paired with the risk of skin cancer (my dad a short bought with it) means that I usually try to avoid prolonged periods of time in the sun.  If I’m reading and really in a groove, I’m not going to remember to stop and reapply sunscreen (it’s horrible and slightly pathetic, I know).

Beach Towels
Not gonna lie, I’m usually sitting on my beach towel in a beach chair that’s on top of a second towel. It keeps me from getting sand all over myself (love the beach, hate bringing the sand home with me) and comes in handy if you decide to go in the water. I got a striped rainbow one from Target that I’m low-key obsessed with. It’s so cute and bright, like it’s smiling at you from the beach while you’re in the water. Plus, it’s more comfortable for me to lie down and read versus sitting upright in a chair.

Book(s)/E-Reader
I like physical books as much as the next person, but when to comes to the beach I much prefer bringing my Kindle with to read. I don’t have to worry about ruining pages, or all the extra weight the book(s) will add to my bag. I’m all about simplicity.  I’m super anal about my books being in pristine condition, and I know that if I ruin a page even a little, it will drive me insane.

Case/Cover for Books
To help combat the sand and water, I highly recommend bringing a case for your Kindle or making your own waterproof over for your books. Earlier this month I read a DIY tutorial post on Coffeehouse Chatter and it was awesome! If you’re on the lookout for a way to bring your books to the pool/beach/bathtub, she’s got you covered! #BadPun #SorryNotSorry

I’m also going to throw in the fact if you do decide to go digital, don’t forget to charge your Kindle! You shouldn’t have to worry about bringing a charger because the batter on these suckers lasts what feels like forever.

Beach Bag/Backpack
Now that you’ve got your essentials, you’ll need a bag to lug everything around. I got a cheap $5 bag from Target (I live there, OK?) that’s roomy and fits all of my stuff nicely. That way I don’t have to bring a million bags with me. (I don’t drive in the city. I take public transportation. So lugging around a million bags on the train would not be fun.) Plus, where else are you going to put all your snacks? 😉


Beach Reads

When I’m at the beach, and just during the summer in general, I try to keep my reading light. So all of these books are sexy and/or New Adult. They’re awesome reads, but not nearly as involved as say, diving into 800-page Winter, or another SJM book (not that there are any left for me to read). There isn’t any world building I need to grasp with rules or magic or anything of the sort. I can dive in head first and know exactly what’s happening.

What are your beach reads this summer? Leave a comment and/or link your TTT below! 😀

 


Follow me on Twitter || Goodreads || Instagram || Snapchat

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday || Ten Beach Reads & Necessities

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Haha, I love your take on this week’s topic! I’m not much of a beach reader (or person, even) but I’ll definitely keep these things in mind for my next visit! And Carrie is right, those covers. ❤

    Like

  2. Summer @ Xingsings says:

    Cool list! I loved that you included non-bookish beach essentials. A beach bag or backpack is certainly a must have for me (because I always have the problem of carrying too much). And thanks for including NA titles. I’ve honestly only started trying them and haven’t had much luck. :/ But I’ve heard so many people talk about The Deal and the Off Campus series!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it! I’ve lucked a handful of New Adult titles, but had no idea that I was reading them or that it was a genre all by itself (at least at the time).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Holly says:

    That book cover is SUCH a great idea! Not only is it awesome for the beach, but I could totally see myself also covering some of my textbooks for school that way to keep them from getting wrecked in my backpack.
    Don’t worry, I basically live at Target, too. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      Hello fellow Target dweller! I thought you looked familiar. 😉 I know, right? I read her post and I was like, “This is so clever! I would’ve never thought of doing something so simple.”Using it for textbooks would be an awesome idea! Also something I never would’ve thought to do, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lois says:

    I love your take on this weeks topic and I will definitely keep these tips in mind the next time I go to the beach. I’ve not read a lot of NA books but I’ve heard some good things about The Mistake so I’ll have to check it out. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      Glad you liked it! I felt inspired, yes, but I also had no idea what to include as far as books went. (Hence why they’re at the end of the post.) I’d definitely recommend The Mistake/Off-Campus series. It’s so funny and the characters/situations are handled well.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    I love your take on the topic! Despite living in walking distance from the beach I hate it so much 😅 but I can imagine this list is super helpful. I tend to avoid NA, but I can definitely understand why they’d be the perfect ‘beach/summer’ read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

