Top Ten Tuesday || Ten Popular Authors I Haven’t Read

Welcome to another edition of Top Ten Tuesday! This is a meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish where each week we’re given a topic and we make a list of ten or so items that fit the theme. Instead of going with the planned topic, I decided to write about ten popular authors I haven’t read. I don’t think any of these will surprise you, but let’s get to it and see.

Laini Taylor
A couple weeks ago, I watched a panel with Laini Taylor on it where she vaguely talked about writing her series and I had no idea what she was talking about. Daughter of Smoke and Bone has been on my radar ever since I watched Katytastic’s April Wrap Up video where she mentioned it. I haven’t committed to it yet because my library doesn’t have the trilogy for kindle (nor can they get it) and for some reason, I’m hesitant about buying these books.

Cassandra Clare
There’s pretty much no reason for me to not have at least read the first two books in the Mortal Instruments series because I own them. I don’t know if it’s a weird (and irrational) aversion to the fact that they’re so popular, but I don’t have any desire to pick them up at the moment. I’m hoping this will eventually change, and I’ll at least try to read the first book.

Pierce Brown
Let’s be real, I have no idea if Pierce Brown is considering a “popular” author, but judging but the line of people waiting to meet him at BookCon, I’m going to go with yes. I have heard awesome things about his books, but in my small, one-track mind, I didn’t want to get into his books because he was male. Stupid, right? Now that I’ve met him and told him that I’m reading his book, I feel obligated to do so (and it also helps that it sounds really good). I highly doubt he’s going to remember me out of the hundreds of people he met that day, but you know, whatever.

Sabaa Tahir
This is also an author that I have no excuse for not having read yet, since once again, I own the book. I received it in my first ever Uppercase Box, and because it’s a physical book I haven’t felt the urge to pick it up. It’s horrible (me, not the book). It’s definitely on my need-to-read-soon list because the sequel is coming out, and if I enjoy it, I want to enjoy the release with everyone else as it actually happens.

J.K. Rowling
Do I really need to say anymore? We all know that I haven’t finished HP and it’s been so long since I’ve read the first three that I’m just going to start over whenever I get around to actually reading it. (Which should be soon. I don’t know how long it’s going to be on Kindle Unlimited.)

Jane Austen
I could easily make a list of classic literature and the authors that I haven’t read. At the top of this list is Jane Austen. I’ve avoided her work and anything that came out of England after I took Brit. Lit. in high school. Now that I’m older and have actually read quotes from some of her work, I really want to read some of it. (I also own a huge bind up of 7 of her novels, so once again I have no excuse.)

Alexandra Bracken
I definitely own Darkest Minds on my kindle because it was a whopping .99 cents last summer and it sounded good. At the time, I had no idea how popular the trilogy actually is, nor that the last book was coming out last year (or had just come out. Something like that). It sounds like it’s right up my alley, so I’m not entirely sure why I haven’t read the book. SOON.

Susan Dennard
Honestly, the only book I’ve heard of that she’s written is Truthwitch, and I tried to read it. What I read didn’t really catch my fancy, so I had to put it down (hopefully) temporarily. I’ve heard that it gets better though, so fingers crossed!

J.R.R. Tolkein
I’m intimidated by his books. Plain and simple. I do love the movies though? Does that count for anything? (Probably not, but I tried, haha.)

Rainbow Rowell
I don’t think I’m ever going to read her books. They are so hyped up, and I’m not the biggest fan of contemporary, so I feel like they would disappointment me. I’m not dead set on it, so there’s still a chance that I may pick up one of her books. If I do, it’s just way down on my list of books to read.


Follow me on Twitter || Goodreads || Instagram || Snapchat

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday || Ten Popular Authors I Haven’t Read

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    I also haven’t read Laini Taylor, Pierce Brown, Alexandra Bracken, Tolkien, and… Susan Dennard, though with Dennard my issues with you are the same. I just didn’t end up reading Truthwitch even after starting it.

    Hope you read Sabaa Tahir, though! I quite enjoyed An Ember in the Ashes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      Yay! I’m glad I’m not alone. I feel like everyone loves all the books and talks about them all the time, and I’m just over here like…”The covers are pretty?” lol

      I will probably be reading An Ember in the Ashes this summer. Like I said, I own the book and I was really excited when I got it, so I have no idea why I haven’t read it yet.

      Like

  2. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    I haven’t read soooooo many of these either. I just started Daughter of Smoke and Bone though and so far I’m enjoying it. I defs recommend The Darket Minds series it’s one of my all time favourites! I also really want to read Red Rising and An Ember in the Ashes. I read the first TMI book (and own the 2nd one) but I really don’t know if I wanna continue the series.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      I will definitely be reading The Darkest Minds soon! I might go on a buying ban just so I can get through the books I have.

      I reaaaally want to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I might just have to bite the bullet and buy the first book (before I implement my buying ban).

      Like

Leave a Reply

