Monday Morning Cuppa #8 || Celaena Sardothien

Happy Monday my lovely readers! I missed last week…ooops. In my defense, I was in Chicago Friday-Sunday for BookCon, which is when I usually do my writing for the week. Then last week I had two finals on Monday, so blogging wasn’t possible. 😛

Anyway, let’s get to why you’re here. Monday Morning Cuppa is a feature I created to marry my love of tea with books. I pick a character and a tea that reminds me of them, then tell you why and throw in a mini review at the end. Boom. There you go.

This week, I went with Celaena from the Throne of Glass Series. (No spoilers please!)

The Character & Tea

10206dt01var004045-bi-1.46Tea: Citron Oolong – DAVIDsTEA
Character: Celanea Sardothian | Throne of Glass Series
Reasoning: So the other day, I was perusing through Throne of Glass stuff on Etsy, and came across this candle inspired by the book and Celaena’s scent. In the description, it explains how Celaena smells like, “Jasmine, and lemon verbena, and crackling embers.” Of course, I was immediately on the prowl for a lemon verbena and jasmine tea. I’ve had the two separately, but never together. A google search came up with nothing, so I hopped back over to DAVIDsTEA and found Citron Oolong (it technically has lemon myrtle in it, but it’s still lemon so I’m sticking with it).. The tea smells like jasmine and lemon (obviously), but it isn’t too overpowering. I’ve found that when a tea has jasmine in it, it smells and tastes like you’re eating/drinking the flower itself. Not my style, as I’ve said before. It doesn’t have any hint of crackling embers or a smoky flavor, because let’s be real, I don’t want that in my tea. Anyway, the look of this tea also reminded me of Celaena; I think it’s the light color of the jasmine buds mixed with the dark tea leaves. They look pretty and refined, which despite the fact that she’s a renowned assassin, Celaena likes and/or tries to be.

The Review

What I like: I love the balance between lemon and jasmine in this tea. I’ve found that both of those ingredients can be way too overpowering on their own and/or when mixed with other flavors. I have no idea what voodoo magic she worked, but when I bought a cup of this tea in the store, it was so delicious! I highly recommend sweetening it with honey to really give it that extra something special.
What I don’t like: Honestly? The price point. At $5.99/oz this tea can get expensive fast (hmm sounds like it’s right up Celaena’s alley, no?). That’s it. I don’t personally own this tea [yet] but that’s just because I had it over the weekend, and I had enough to worry about getting home thanks to BookCon without including more tea that I don’t need right now.
Consensus: I’m obsessed with this tea. It was a light tea with a great balance between citrus and floral notes. I’d totally recommend going in and grabbing yourself a cup and/or having a sniff. You will not regret it!


Follow me on Twitter || Goodreads || Instagram || Snapchat

5 thoughts on “Monday Morning Cuppa #8 || Celaena Sardothien

Leave a Reply

