Critique Quickie || Books For the Lovey Dovey & Smexy

So this past week I power read through a few books and decided to throw together some mini reviews for you guys (mostly due to their nature and the fact that they’re all sequels). Let’s get to it, shall we?

Cupid Has a Heart-On (The Holidays #2)

img_0615
4 Teacups

28839473Synopsis:

The Holiday family is back, crazier than ever in this special, Valentine’s Day story!

Cupid hits a few roadblocks on the way to Sam and Noel’s hearts after their whirlwind Christmas romance. N*pplegate 2016, a stray stripper and a regrettable mix-up with narcotics are just the tips of the arrow when it comes to shooting these two with happily ever after. Nothing seeing a grown man wearing an adult diaper and wings can’t fix…hopefully.

My Thoughts:

This book is a follow up to The Stocking was Hung, which was absolutely hilarious, and I’m happy to report that the hilarity continues with this book. I loved the wacky characters and for the most part, the plot kept things going. There were a couple points where I wasn’t sure why communication wasn’t happening that would’ve greatly helped things. I’d definitely recommend this series!

Pucked Up (Pucked #2)

img_0615
4 Teacups

Pucked UpSynopsis:

Miller “Buck” Butterson has been banging his way through life ever since a puck to the face fixed his messed up front teeth. After five years in the NHL, deflecting goals on the ice and scoring them with puck bunnies, Miller has decided he’s ready for a girlfriend. A real, non-bunny girlfriend to take on dates, and not jump into bed with after five seconds of conversation.

Miller thinks he’s found that woman in his teammate’s sister. Except, unlike team captain and all-around nice guy Alex Waters—who happens to date his stepsister, Miller’s media reputation as a manwhore is well earned. Beyond that minor detail, Miller doesn’t know the first thing about relationships or the time and effort they require.

Miller learns—eventually—that if he wants to make Sunshine “Sunny” Waters fall for him, he’s going to have to do a whole lot more than show her his stick skills in the bedroom.

My Thoughts:

I’ve talked about the first book, Pucked, many times on my blog. This book picks up kind of where that one left off, except now we’re spending time with Violet and Alex’s siblings, Miller and Sunny. I thought this book had its funny moments, but I found Sunny got annoying after a while. There were situations that Miller found himself in that he had no control over, and Sunny would be crying and acting like it’s the end of the world. She had zero faith in him when he gave her plenty of reason to trust him. Overall though, I’d definitely recommend the book. Since it’s considered a standalone, you don’t technically have to read Pucked, but I’d recommend it to get some background information.


Sincerely, Arizona (Sincerely, Carter 1.5)

img_0615
4 Teacups

26172315Synopsis (kind of):

**Note: This is not a standalone or a novel. It’s the previously unpublished epilogue (which I extended 🙂 ) to “Sincerely, Carter”, and the easiest way I could make sure as many readers as possible have it since I normally post things like this on my blog. (And it’s FREE!) 🙂
PS—Yes, I will still post this on my blog. 🙂
Just friends.
We’re just friends.
No, wait. We’re no longer just best friends…

My Thoughts:

So for this, I think you definitely need to read Sincerely, Carter first, which is such an insanely cute story just so you get what happened with them. This is a short book that takes place right after the first one ends, but from Arizona’s perspective versus Carter’s. I loved how loyal they were to each other, and there’s definitely a part that had squealing with delight because it was so cute (and therefore feeding into my romantic mood). I’d totally recommend this one beause it’s such a nice ending to the book, and if you’re looking for a light read/follow up, this one has you covered!


Follow me on Twitter || Goodreads || Instagram || Snapchat

One thought on “Critique Quickie || Books For the Lovey Dovey & Smexy

Leave a Reply

