The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

I was tagged by the lovely Heather from The Sassy Book Geek. I feel so loved right now, haha but seriously, go check out this girl’s blog. Awesomeness everywhere!

How long have you been a blogger?

Oh goodness, not that long at all. I believe I started my blog in mid-January. Sooo what is that, 4 months? Wow.

At what point do you think you will stop?

As of right now, I have no immediate plans to stop anytime soon. I’ll probably take breaks when I need them, but nothing permanent. I like it too much!

What is the best part?

I know everyone says this, but the community! Everyone is just so welcoming and friendly, plus it’s awesome to be able to talk about books that I like with other people who like them too. I can’t do that in my everyday life.

What is the worst thing?

Hmm….is there a bad thing? Not really, except maybe the pressure that I put on myself to read and have new posts up. I know that is 100% on me, because either no one seems to notice that I’m gone, or everyone is totally understanding.

How long does it take you to find/create pictures to use?

Haha, what pictures? The graphics that I use for each post take me a few seconds to make and then upload to a post. I rarely take pictures because I’m horrible at it, as is probably evident in my unboxing posts.

Who’s your book crush?

I’m going with Rhysand from ACOTAR. (You thought I was going to say Rowan, weren’t you?) I loved his character in that book and the dynamic between him and Feyre. I cannot wait to see more of him in ACOMAF. We’re only 11 days away!

What author would you like to have on your blog?

Ooooh I’m going with either Victoria Aveyard or V.E. Schwab purely based on their tweets. (Granted, I thoroughly enjoy their writing as well.) It’s killing me that I probably won’t be able to meet V.A. at BookCon this year. 😦

What do you wear when you write your blog?

Nothing. I go sans clothes when blogging….but for the sake of keeping up appearances and sticking with the social norm, usually comfy clothes because I’m doing it in the morning before I go to work or at night before I go to bed. In the rare cases when I can work on it at work (because we’e incredibly slow right now) obviously I’m wearing work-appropriate clothes, but they’re still comfy.

If you want my 10000% TMI answer, I’m totally #teamnopants right now. ;P

How long does it take you to prepare a post?

It depends on the post, what I’m using to work on it, and what time of day I’m working on it. Usually my reviews and chit chat posts take longer for me to write (2+ hrs. spread out) and posts like TTT and TWHST take me closer to 30 mins to write (there isn’t a ton of thinking needed on my part). I enjoy taking my time to make sure my posts are enjoyable and legible (I just love catching stupid spelling mistakes after running spellcheck).

How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

I love it! Like I said, everyone is so nice and welcoming. Blogging is a great outlet for me to release all of my pent up bookish energy. Before I had my blog, I had nowhere to gush about the books I as reading, and I had to keep all of that in. I’m surprised I didn’t explode, hahaha.

What do you think one should do to have a successful blog?

I feel like I’m incredbly new to the game, so I feel funny telling people how to have a successful blog…but I’ll share what I’ve learned.

  • INTERACT – I read this tip on multiple blogs (She Latitude being one of them), and while it was scary at first, it really paid off. I’ve come across some really awesome blogs run by awesome people. It’s the best way to get yourself and your blog out there.
  • Don’t pressure yourself – You don’t need to have a post up every single day to have a successful blog. If you only post two or three times a week, that’s totally fine! Quality over quantity.
  • Be Yourself – It’s totally fine to participate in all the memes and tags that everyone is doing, in fact I encourage it. It’s a great starting point until you find your voice, however, I also encourage you to experiment and come up with your own stuff too! (Like I did with Monday Morning Cuppa.)
  • Don’t Stress Over Numbers – Stats are important, sure, because they tell you what’s working and what isn’t, but don’t fixate on the number of followers you have, or how many views and comments you’re getting. It takes time to get things rolling, and once they do you’ll see everything is up from here.
  • Quality over Quantity – This goes hand in hand with putting pressure on yourself, but I’ve found that I’d rather skip a day of posting if the post I was supposed to put up doesn’t feel ready. I’d rather have an awesome post go up a day or even a week later, than have a mediocre one go up on time.

I Tag:

Estefani @ Fiction Jungle

Ve @ Tiny Box of Imagination

Jorlene @ Page Chronicles

Brittany @ Beauty and the Bean Boots

On Turning Pages (I’m sorry, I couldn’t find your name!)


Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram

8 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

Leave a Reply

