Monday Morning Cuppa #6 | Kel – A Darker Shade of Magic

Welcome to another edition of Monday Morning Cuppa! This is a feature I created to marry my love for tea with my love for books. I take a tea that reminds me of a certain character/book, write about why, and then throw in a mini review. This week’s tea reminded me of Kel from A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab.

The Tea

honey, I DewTea: Honey, I Dew – DAVIDsTEA
Character: Kel | A Darker Shade of Magic – V.E. Schwab
Reasoning: In the book, it’s said that to people who live outside of Red London, Kel smells sweet, like roses. I’m not the biggest fan of floral teas because they tend to taste like I’m eating the flower itself. So, the tea that I picked instead is still sweet, but it’s  fruity instead of floral. I started drinking this tea back in December, and as luck would have it, they’re retiring it. Boooooo. The sweetness of this tea reminds me of the scent that lingers wherever Kel arrives or leaves one of the parallel Londons. It’s got honey-dew, pineapple, apple, and natural watermelon flavoring. So stinking delicious and I’m so going to have to get a ginormous tin of it. to last me a while. (I’m still in denial about its retirement).

The Review

What I like: It’s sweet and a different combination of fruits that I’ve never had before in a tea. I have to use very little sweetener, which is awesome, and even then it’s not overly sweet.

What I don’t like: Honestly? Purely the fact that they’re retiring it. I haven’t found anything that I don’t like about this tea.

Consensus: Get this tea. Now. ASAP. You will not regret it.


Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram

5 thoughts on “Monday Morning Cuppa #6 | Kel – A Darker Shade of Magic

      • rantandraveaboutbooks says:

        I have a friend who loves tea, and she’s always telling me about different types. She goes to a tea shop where they have about a hundred kinds, and before that, I was so oblivious. This review was fun because I started wondering what he smelled like, and I’ve never thought of characters that way. Nice post!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Carrianne says:

        You know, I never stopped to think about the fact that this might make people think about what he smells like. As bad it sounds, writing this post didn’t do that for me because I was thinking about how good the tea smells (soooo good btw), haha. Don’t you just wish you could do that? I’d love to know what Rowan smells like in HoF.

        Like

Leave a Reply

