Mini Critique | The Love that Split the World by Emily Henry (Spoiler-Free)

I decided to try a new format with this review; instead of writing out full paragraphs, I wanted to keep my thoughts concise (hopefully) and write everything out in a bullet points. I think it worked out nicely. Let me know what you think! *cringes and hopes it goes well*

img_0619
3.5 Teacups

25467698Synopsis:

Natalie’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start… until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” They’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, there’s a pre-school where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isn’t right.

That’s when she gets a visit from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau.

What I Liked:

  • I found myself chuckling through some parts. It’d kind of go in and out of funny moments.
  • I really, really like the Author’s writing style. She used beautiful imagery.
  • I liked the stories that Grandmother told. Since I’m currently in a mythology class, it was totally relevant.
  • I liked that the MC wasn’t white and that she was dark-skinned and half Native American.
  • The dynamic between Nat and Megan was very reminiscent of me and my best friend.
  • I loved the relationship between Natalie, Coco, and Jack. That’s how my sister and I are.
  • That cover though. It’s gorgeous!

What I Didn’t Like:

  • This book wasn’t what I thought it’d be – I was expecting a little more fantasy/sci-fi.
  • Natalie’s “search for herself” started to get annoying after a while and felt repetitive.
  • I felt no attachment to either character — we literally learned nothing about Beau except that his home life is less than ideal.
  • Didn’t see the point in Matt’s character except to be someone for us to hate (she was already over him by the start of the book.)
  • Nothing that Natalie and Beau went through was fully explained.
    Once things were explained, it was a lot of information dumped on us at once and didn’t make sense. This happened more than once.
  • Emily tried to cover too many subjects (feminism, diversity, LBGTQIA, time travel, adoption, Native American history/storytelling, insta-love, mental health, parallel worlds, and psychology) which left everything that was covered stretched a bit too thin.
  • Read this article.  — I have to agree that while I enjoyed the idea of the Native American culture, I wasn’t all that impressed with the execution.
  • There were way too many lovey dovey scenes. So much so that big events would get pushed to the wayside because Natalie was with Beau. Save “him” (whoever that is) in three months? Hold on because Beau is gorgeous.
  • The ending was horrible and left all of my questions unanswered. The book definitely needs an epilogue.

Consensus

Overall, I would recommend this book. However, my best advice would be to go in with little-to-no expectations about what kind of book it is.


Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram

14 thoughts on “Mini Critique | The Love that Split the World by Emily Henry (Spoiler-Free)

  1. Read Diverse Books says:

    I have read some criticisms of the novel’s depiction of Native American culture and customs. I appreciate when white authors write non-white leads, but writing it well can be tricky.

    I do want to read this book but I feel I would agree with most of your issues, which makes me hesitant to buy it because I have so many other great books to read. Sigh

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      That’s exactly what I did and I’m glad that I did too. It made the book more enjoyable (despite my super long list of dislikes), and I truly did enjoy it. I’m excited to know your thoughts on it once you do read it. (:

      Liked by 1 person

  2. wonderfilledreads says:

    I know a bunch of people in one of my book clubs had some trouble with the ending, but I think that was the point. Henry left it up to interpretation on what happens. I found it to basically be a mirror of the myth that Grandmother told. I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read it but I’m sure you know which one I’m referring to! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    Nice review! I was on the fence with this one, and I guess I still am. The synopsis sounds intriguing, but the lack of follow through on the Sci-Fi/fantasy portion of the story sounds a bit disappointing. That was the reason I initially wanted to read it. I’m part Cherokee, but never had the exposure to the culture, so I’ve always been interested in books with Native American culture. I’ve read a lot about certain tribes belief in magic and spirits, but poor execution, I agree, will throw the story off.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

