Top Ten Tuesday | 10 Books I’ve Lied About

Today is Top Ten Tuesday, which is a meme hosted over on The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme was supposed to be Ten Books Every X Should Read, but I wasn’t really feeling it (plus, I read the same kinds of books all the time). Instead, I searched the list of TTTs Past, and found 10 Books I’ve Lied About. So, without further ado, here are 10 of the books I’ve lied about.

  1. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – This was one of our required readings when I was a junior in high school. We had an entire unit on it where we discussed themes in the book and even had a paper. I somehow managed to fake my way through the entire thing and got a decent grade on it.
  2. Sophie’s Choice – Again, this was a book that I was supposed to read my junior year of high school, and didn’t. I also had a paper that I needed to write on it and winged it. Anyone else starting to notice a theme here?
  3. The last seven chapters of The Great Gatsby – Guess when I supposed to read this? Just guess? Did you guess junior year, because you would be correct! This book was our summer reading, I believe. I got through two-thirds of it and then I have no idea what happened. I enjoyed what I read! I’ll have to actually finish it one of these years. (This was six years ago, guys.)
  4. Pride and Prejudice – I know! How have I not read this one yet? I really want to, but after my Brit. Lit. class, I was a little burnt out and pretty much hated anything that came out of Britain in book form. This has since changed, but I still haven’t gotten around to reading it. (If I’m totally honest, it kind of intimidates me, which is weird because it’s only like 269 pages.)
  5. A Clockwork Orange – Or at least part of it. I honest can’t remember how far I got into the book, which means that I’ll have to start over.  It’s just so exhausting trying to read the book, because you’re constantly flipping between the page you’re on and the glossary to know what the heck he’s saying (at least for the first few chapters). I’ve seen the movie and that’s good enough for me.
  6. Great Expectations – Totally had to read this for my freshman English class and I never finished it. This is another one I faked my way through. I promise guys, I did read in school, I was apparently very selective about it.
  7. To Kill a Mockingbird – Once again, I never finished this. I just wasn’t feeling it. Fake it until you make, I say!
  8. Fifty Shades of Grey – Not that I outwardly lie about reading this series, I just don’t go around flaunting it. It’s horribly written, and the only reason I finished it was because I’d already invested time into it, so I figured I’d might as well finish. *shrug*
  9. Stepbrother with Benefits – Again, not trying to flat-out hide it, I’m just not gushing about it to everyone I meet. The way it’s written is O.K., it’s just a tad juvenile. I had to drop the series because I couldn’t handle the writing anymore. Not to mention, it’s a tad on the raunchy side. So it’s a good read when I need something that’s not super thought-provoking.
  10. Priest – I’m a little weary of mentioning this one (ever, even in my TTT post about blushing) because it’s about a Priest that breaks his vows and has sex in incredibly inappropriate places. Maybe it’s because religion in that sense is so taboo.

And that’s all of them. Now, I probably look like the worst student/future librarian ever. Oopsies! What books have you lied about? Let me know below and leave a link to your TTT! 😀


Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | 10 Books I’ve Lied About

  1. wonderfilledreads says:

    Hahahaha, ahhhh The Great Gatsby. I didn’t lie about this one but my teacher did lol. My 11th grade AP English teacher hated me because of this book. Unfortunately due to me being unable to keep my mouth shut, I asked her how she knew something about it and then told her she actually didn’t know what she was talking about, she was just guessing so she could in fact be teaching us lies. Yeahhhhh, she didn’t appreciate that one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thesassygeek says:

    I can pretty much agree with a lot of these classics, the ones we were FORCED to “read” in high school. I skimmed my way through pretty much all of them. Great post though Carrianne! 🙂

    Like

  3. Brown Books and Green Tea says:

    So many books I went through school faking as though I read. After college I went back and casually read some of them, and I found I liked most of them way more without the pressure of reading them for school. Also, I’ve definitely lied about reading the 50 shades series. I’ve read them all, but was directly asked by my grandmum if I’d read them. I lied, because who wants to have that conversation?

    My ttt: http://brownbooksandgreentea.com/2016/04/12/clearing-the-shelf-for-arc-april/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    And here I thought I was the only person who couldn’t get into To Kill A Mockingbird. The farthest I’ve ever made it before closing the book and forgetting about it is sixteen pages. I find the opening to be so dull I can’t even bring myself to finish it just to see what all the hype is about. Nice post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

