Top Ten Tuesday | Characters Everyone Loves but I Don’t

Ok, first let me start this post off by apologizing for being MIA for roughly five days. I leave for spring break a week from Saturday (the 19th) so I’ve started packing (I know, it’s so early! But since it’s technically still Winter in Chicago, I have to dig out my spring/summer clothes) and I’ve been working like a mad woman to get ahead in my classes. I have good news though, I did finish a book over the weekend, so that review should hopefully be up tomorrow.

Anyway, back to this week’s Top Ten Tuesday. By now you should know the drill in that this is a meme hosted over @ The Broke and The Bookish. This week is the top ten characters everyone loves but I don’t/Characters I Love but Everyone Hates. I started thinking about this and instead, I’m doing 5 characters I don’t like, and 5 I do like.

Characters Everyone Loves but I Don’t

America Singer – The Selection

If you’ve read any of my reviews for the Selection series, you’d know that I’m not the biggest fan, and this is mostly because of protagonist, America Singer.  Actually, the case might be that most people don’t like her, but for those who absolutely love her, please explain to me why. I’m not trying to be rude or snippy. I just don’t see it.

Chaol Westfall – Throne of Glass

Before Rowan was in the picture, I was totally team Dorian. I never fully took a liking to Chaol, even after his relationship with Celaena developed past her training partner and they became friends. He can’t get past certain things about Celaena’s past that are revealed and irritates the crap out of me.

Jacob Black – Twilight

I was team Edward back in the day. I get why people liked Jacob, I really do, but at the time I was obsessed with vampires and there for Edward Cullen. Jacob especially annoyed me in Breaking Dawn, until we got to read from his POV and then I started to like him. Now as an adult though, I don’t care who she picks.

Hermione Granger – Harry Potter

know I’m in the minority on this one. I can’t say that I have a fully formed opinion here because at the moment, I’ve only read the first three books, but there’s just something about Hermione that rubs me the wrong way. This opinion can still change though. 🙂

Ky – Matched

I was never able to jump on board with him. I mean, yeah he’s all mysterious and stuff, but I just…no.

Characters I love but Everyone Hates

Rowan Whitethorn – Throne of Glass

It seems that a lot of people liked Rowan better as a protector/trainer than as Aelin’s lover. I did too and I totally shipped their friendship. While I’d like to say that I’d love them together, the jury’s still out.

Christian Grey – Fifty Shades of Grey

Ok, I don’t love him but I don’t necessarily hate him either. I can tolerate him, especially after reading Grey.

Rhysand – A Court of Thorns and Roses

I loved him in ACOTAR, even more so than Tamlin. I just feel like he had a better dynamic with Feyre than Tamlin did.

Gale – The Hungers Games

I don’t get it. He’s hardly in the series, and when it finally does have a prominent presence, I couldn’t stand him.

Mal – The Grisha Trilogy

I’ve only read the first book, which he’s hardly in, but I don’t get it. Maybe once I continue the rest of the series, I’ll start to see it, but as of yet, nope.

Do you agree with any of these? Do you disagree? Let’s chat! Feel free to leave your TTT in the comments and I’ll be sure to check it out!


Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Characters Everyone Loves but I Don’t

Leave a Reply

