Chit Chat | Posting Schedules – Yay or Nay?

I’m on a roll! When I decided to start doing discussions/chit chats on Wednesdays, I wasn’t sure I’d have anything to talk about. Now, I feel like I have ideas flowing out of me like nobody’s business. This week I wanted to talk about post schedules and when your write your posts. I’ve had my blog for roughly about a month. At first,all  I was doing was moving reviews over from Goodreads which lasted all of two weeks. Once I ran out, I had no idea what to do with my life. I tried to read books and write reviews for them, but it wasn’t enough. I didn’t want to just write reviews all the time. That’s when I found Top Ten Tuesday on Angel Erin’s blog and discovered the world of blog memes. From there, I started participating in TTT, WoW, and TWHST before I came up with my own feature, Monday Morning Cuppa.

It was these themes and Regina’s Post @ SheLatitude, Top Ten Blogging Lessons I’m Thankful I’ve Learned, that inspired me to come up with a regular posting schedule to keep both my sanity intact and let my readers know what to expect on a daily basis. I’ve come to really love and appreciate my schedule. I feel so much more structured as a blogger, especially when I’m reading a book. Having set days for posting reviews gives me an end date to work toward (this totally helped when I was reading Dead of Night). I’ve even been able to work ahead! This entire week’s worth of posts was finished by last Friday which allowed me to focus on my homework and school.

I love pre-writing and scheduling everything. As the number of posts I have scheduled goes up, I feel a sense of accomplishment. Pre-writing my posts takes the stress out of blogging because then I’m not freaking out the night before when I need to have the post done that’s supposed to be scheduled to go up. It gives me time to give the post a little something extra that I wouldn’t be able to if I wasn’t proactive (believe it or not. I don’t know if that’s prevalent at all. lol). I’m envious of anyone who can post as they write because that’s got to mean that they have this endless stream of content flowing from their fingertips. Coming up with content is another post altogether.

Anyway, my question for you, my lovely readers, is do you pre-write your posts or do you write as you go? Along those same lines, do you have a post schedule? If you do, are strict with it, or are you loosey goosey? If you don’t, do you wish you did? What are your methods to your madness? Share below!


Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram

4 thoughts on “Chit Chat | Posting Schedules – Yay or Nay?

  1. rakioddbooks says:

    Nay!
    I don’t like blog schedules, they add too much pressure. Blogging and reading for me are meant to be fun, they shouldn’t feel like work or a chore and having a schedule would only make them feel like one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      I can totally see where you’re coming from, and I’m kind of starting to feel the same way. BUT right now for reviews, it gives me a date to work toward and helps when I’m feeling overwhelmed with reading. I’m also pretty loose with my schedule now. I need a little bit of structure otherwise I’m all over the place. lol

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ve *GirlySunglasses* says:

    I try to post at least three times a week, but that’s it. I don’t have a fixed schedule, it gives me anxiety. I also don’t ‘plan’ my posts. I’m not really organized. The only thing I have is a spreadsheet where I list the books I reviewed and where I did it (blog, GR or both).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      That’s a good idea! I’ve got the posting thing down but not so much the what and where. Especially since some publishers/authors require them to posted on different sites.

      I find interesting that having a schedule would make you anxious, though I totally get it. All the pressure to get it up. The only posts I really “plan” are the weekly memes are participate in. Everything else is up for grabs if I have something, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

