Critique | Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli (Spoiler-Free)

img_0614

5 Teacups

19547856I am so excited that this was a five-star read because this book is absolutely adorable. I’d heard it raved about all over BookTube, so of course I was off to the library to see if I could get my hands on it. I am so glad I did, because I fell in love with Simon and his quirky cast of friends and family.

The story starts off as Simon is blackmailed, but he shrugs it off and muddles his way through life figuring out how to deal with his sexuality, his friends, his family, and the grammatically correct cutie he’s emailing known as Blue. The thing that I liked best about this book was how real and relatable the characters were. They talked about real issues that teens deal with in a way that teens actually talk.

That was the summer I taught myself how to do laundry. There are some socks that shouldn’t be washed by your mom.

Simon is adorable, funny, sweet, and a little dorky. I think he tries to give everyone the benefit of the doubt (even if they’re blackmailing him) which I think makes him that much more likeable. His parents read like real parents; they over share and ground him when they need to, but most of all, they just want to be included in his life.

“I don’t want to cramp your style, but maybe you could just humor us? Keep us in the loop about stuff where you can, and we’ll try not to be weird and obsessed.”

On the same note, his friends are supportive, with varying degrees of personality, and they may argue, but they still love each other. Abby is in everything and loved by everyone, Nick is on the soccer team, and Leah is quiet and reserved. I loved that there wasn’t a ton of teenage angst in this book. Simon’s sexuality was talked about book and he did come out, but it wasn’t made out to be a super huge deal. (I’m sorry if they next quote is a spoiler. It just embodies Simon’s relationship with Nick so well.) Sexuality shouldn’t be a big deal. Love is love, no matter what you identify as.

“Did you just tell us you’re gay?” asks Nick.
“Yes.”
“Okay,” he says. Abby swats him. “What?”
“That’s all you’re going to say? ‘Okay’?”
“He said not to make a big deal out of it,” Nick says. “What am I supposed to say?”

The main focus of the book is dealing with the changes that come along with growing up and finding yourself along the way. As Simon and Blue email back and forth, each of them has to deal with things happening in their lives that they find comfort in sharing with one another, despite the fact that they don’t know the other’s actual identity.

Once we finally do get to meet Blue, I couldn’t stop smiling. I had it figured out pretty early on in the book, but that didn’t detract from the reveal whatsoever. Seeing Simon and his friends so blisfully happy was contagious. I just wanted to hug everyone and I’m glad that things ended where they did.

So if you’re looking for a light-hearted, fluffy read that will make you grin from ear-to-ear, I would 1000% recommend Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. You will not be disappointed. 🙂


Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram

2 thoughts on “Critique | Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli (Spoiler-Free)

Leave a Reply

