Top Ten Tuesday | Books I Enjoyed Outside My Normal Genre

Today is Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly meme hosted over on The Broke and The Bookish. This week is all about the Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently (last yearish) That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book. Since I just recently got back into reading extensively, pretty much everything I’ve read has been outside my usual genre and I only started using Goodreads last year. But I’ll try to narrow it down for the sake of this post. When I read books in middle school and high school, I was very much into the cliquey rich girl kind of stories. Therefore, I’ve read every book from The A-List and Gossip Girl series (original. Pre-TV show) and the likes. If I have a review, I’ll link it.

15704307Saga. (Volumes 1-5)

Goodreads synopsis for the first volume:

When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.

From bestselling writer Brian K. Vaughan, Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the worlds. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in this sexy, subversive drama for adults

My thoughts: Now, if I’m totally honest, I’m not a huge fan of graphic novels or comic books. While I can totally appreciate the art, it’s just too much for me to wrap my mind around. I’m reading, I’m looking at the pictures, I’m making sure I don’t miss anything. It’s a lot of work for me (which is sad, I know). But with Saga, I heard everyone talking about it on BookTube so I decided to give it a try. I completely fell in love. I read the first three or four volumes in one day and  I still have to read the fifth, but I’m already anxious for the sixth!

unwindUnwind – Neal Shusterman

Goodreads Synopsis:

The Second Civil War was fought over reproductive rights. The chilling resolution: Life is inviolable from the moment of conception until age thirteen. Between the ages of thirteen and eighteen, however, parents can have their child “unwound,” whereby all of the child’s organs are transplanted into different donors, so life doesn’t technically end. Connor is too difficult for his parents to control. Risa, a ward of the state, is not enough to be kept alive. And Lev is a tithe, a child conceived and raised to be unwound. Together, they may have a chance to escape and to survive.

My thoughts: Sci-fi usually isn’t my thing, which is a big part of why I put off reading this book. However, the plot line and mystery shrouding the process of being unwound totally sucked me in. I’m so glad that I was able to finally get my hands on it (it’s super popular at my library). It’s definitely worth checking out. (:

Pucked – Helena Hunting

24504274

Goodreads Synopsis:

With a famous NHL player for a step-brother, Violet Hall is well acquainted with the playboy reputation many hockey stars come with. She’s smart enough to steer clear of those hot, well-built boys with unparalleled stamina. That is until she meets the legendary team captain—Alex Waters.

Violet isn’t interested in his pretty, beat-up face, or his rock-hard six-pack abs. But when Alex inadvertently obliterates Violet’s previous misapprehension regarding the inferior intellect of hockey players, he becomes more than just a hot body with a face to match.

In what can only be considered a complete lapse in judgment, Violet finds out just how good Alex is with the hockey stick in his pants. But what starts out as a one-night stand, quickly turns into something more. Post-night of orgasmic magic, Alex starts to call, and text, and e-mail and send extravagant—and quirky—gifts, making him difficult to ignore, and even more difficult not to like.

The problem is, the media portrays Alex as a total player, and Violet doesn’t want to be part of the game.

My thoughts: I think it’s safe to say that this book is what sent me on my romance-crazy spiral last summer. I read so. Much. “Smut.” And loved every second of it. This book has some sexy moments, but it definitely had me laughing. Not to mention the fact that it’s based in Chicago around the “Hawks.” Being the avid Blackhawks fan that I am, how could I not read a romance novel loosely (if at all) associated with them?  If you can get past the overuse of the word beaver, I think you’ll enjoy it. If new-adult-sports-romance is your thing, that is.

The Lunar Chronicles (1-3) – Marissa Meyer

11235712Goodreads Synopsis for Cinder:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

My thoughts: This series was recommended to me by one of my friends on Goodreads. I’m not going to lie, I wasn’t sure how I felt about the sci-fi aspect of it. The most I’d ventured into the genre was when I read Slaughterhouse-Five in high school, and while I didn’t hate it, it was definitely different. However, I saw the hype surrounding this series, and I decided to give it a go. The first book wasn’t my favorite, but it definitely picked up in the rest of the series. I’m currently putting off reading Winter because I don’t want it to end!

The Fault in Our Stars – John Green

The_Fault_in_Our_StarsGoodreads Synopsis:

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

My thoughts: When I read this, it had been a while since I ventured into the realm of YA Contemporary.I’m not entirely sure why I had stopped reading it, but I had figured that it was time to pick this up since the movie was coming out. (I know, I know. I one of those people. I annoy myself sometimes. 😉 jkjk) As I said in my Disney Book Tag post, cancer is something that hits close to home. I’m so glad I read, or listened to, this book before the movie came out. It’s such a moving story about love and loss.

The Farm – Emily McKay

13542868Goodreads Synopsis:

Life was different in the Before: before vampires began devouring humans in a swarm across America; before the surviving young people were rounded up and quarantined. These days, we know what those quarantines are—holding pens where human blood is turned into more food for the undead monsters, known as Ticks. Surrounded by electrical fences, most kids try to survive the Farms by turning on each other…

And when trust is a thing of the past, escape is nearly impossible.

Lily and her twin sister Mel have a plan. Though Mel can barely communicate, her autism helps her notice things no one else notices—like the portion of electrical fence that gets turned off every night. Getting across won’t be easy, but as Lily gathers what they need to escape, a familiar face appears out of nowhere, offering to help…

Carter was a schoolmate of Lily’s in the Before. Managing to evade capture until now, he has valuable knowledge of the outside world. But like everyone on the Farm, Carter has his own agenda, and he knows that behind the Ticks is an even more dangerous threat to the human race…

My thoughts: After falling in and then aptly falling out of love with Twilight and any books about vampires,  I was in the mood to read something a little on the creepier side. I’d seen this one on my library’s ebook website and decided to give it a try. I could not put it down! It’s such an interesting concept that I think was done really well. Definitely worth the read!

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs

9460487Goodreads Synopsis:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

My thoughts: Once again, I read this one because of all the hype that was surrounding it on BookTube. It’s definitely outside my normal genre with the slightly historical aspect to it, as well as the premise in general. I did enjoy it, but I don’t think I enjoyed it enough to continue the series. It might’ve been too outside my usual genre. We’ll see!

Loving Lawson duology – R.J. Lewis

109875Goodreads Synopsis:

When boyfriend Ryker Lawson is sentenced to prison on drug charges, Allie Wallace faces a life changing event. After being turned away from her mother and on the verge of homelessness, she turns to an unexpected source for help: her boyfriend’s older brother.

Heath Lawson is everything his brother isn’t: a rough, street fighter that can’t commit to a girl if his life depended on it. He likes being on his own. Likes living the simple life. But when Allie turns up asking for help, he has no choice but to take her in.

Knowing Allie most of her life, help is something Heath is more than ready to offer. After all, she’s the love of his brother’s life.

However, what he doesn’t expect… is that she’s also his too.

My thoughts: This duology. I read this last summer during my romance kick, and it was definitely one of my favorites. Or rather, the second one was. It’s sexy, but not raunchy by any means (there’s maybe one or two scenes that I can remember) and the focus is all on this other thing that’s happening (I don’t want to say much because of spoilers for the first book). They’re both a short read, so if you’re in the mood for a quick, sexy-but-not-raunchy read, look not further!

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda – Becky Albertalli

19547856Goodreads Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

My thoughts: This book. I have a confession to make, I haven’t finished it yet. *hides behind hands* I thought I’d have it finished when I wrote this post, but the 20th came a lot faster than I thought, and someone had it on hold at the library. However, I’m next in line for the ebook so I’ll have it finished before you know it! So far though, I’m really enjoying it. It’s totally got a ton of laughable moments and Simon is incredibly relatable, even if I’m a few years older.

Beautiful Bastard series – Christina Lauren

16102004Goodreads Synopsis for Beautiful Bastard:

An ambitious intern. A perfectionist executive. And a whole lot of name calling.

Whip-smart, hardworking, and on her way to an MBA, Chloe Mills has only one problem: her boss, Bennett Ryan. He’s exacting, blunt, inconsiderate—and completely irresistible. A Beautiful Bastard.

Bennett has returned to Chicago from France to take a vital role in his family’s massive media business. He never expected that the assistant who’d been helping him from abroad was the gorgeous, innocently provocative—completely infuriating—creature he now has to see every day. Despite the rumors, he’s never been one for a workplace hookup. But Chloe’s so tempting he’s willing to bend the rules—or outright smash them—if it means he can have her. All over the office.

As their appetites for one another increase to a breaking point, Bennett and Chloe must decide exactly what they’re willing to lose in order to win each other.

My thoughts: Oh my god. Words cannot express how much I love this series (the main books, not so much the novellas). It’s a fan-fic-turned-book based on Fifty Shades of Grey (without the BDSM), but wholly mother of pearl, it’s hilarious. I love the dynamic between Chloe and Bennett, plus once again, it takes place in Chicago. The rest of the series totally has lol moments too! (As you’ll see in my quote on Thursday…I hope. 😉 ). Definitely worth a read. It’s sexy and you’ll be laughing your head off.


Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Books I Enjoyed Outside My Normal Genre

  1. Gabi @ Let's Gab About Books says:

    Saga! I have been meaning to read this for so long! I’m glad you recommend it, I have been starting to pick up more graphic novels lately. Also, I had Cinder on my list too! I’m not a huge science fiction, but I totally loved this series, and know what you mean about not wanting it to end! I recently read and loved Winter 🙂
    -Gabi, Let’s Gab About Books

    My TTT: https://letsgababoutbooks.wordpress.com/2016/02/23/top-ten-tuesday-recently-enjoyed-out-of-my-comfort-zone/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rakioddbooks says:

    The Farm sounds really interesting, I think I’ll add it to my list. Do you need to have read 50 Shades before reading the Beautiful Bastard series? I love books with hilarious situation and characters in them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      I hope you do get a chance to read it! I’d love to hear your thoughts on it. I totally couldn’t tell that it was a fanfic. I think I found out about that after I finished it haha.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      I do too! It is definitely different and one those books where I’m glad I did not grow up in that world. There were a couple parts in the book that literally left me speechless.

      Like

  3. thebrightspark says:

    Interesting picks! Saga is really good, isn’t it? I find that the art and text tend to work together better than in some other comics… Brian Vaughan and Fiona Staples really know what they’re doing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jen says:

    I love your choices and I still need to read The Lunar Chronicles, Unwind and the Beautiful Bastard Series! I’m hoping to get to The Lunar Chronicles in the next few months, fingers crossed. Oh, The Fault in Our Stars! ♥ I am still on the fence for that book because cancer hits way too close to home for me also. Maybe in 5 years or so I will be able to pick up that book. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      I’m currently trying to read Unwholly, but the timing never works out. I had the ebook on hold at my library forever and then they removed it from their catalogue? It was so weird. Of course, they don’t have the physical book either. I’ll get read it eventually, I hope. lol

      Thanks for stopping by! I’ll be sure to check out your post. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

