Chit Chat | Reading as a Reviewer

 

Now that I think I’m starting to get the hang of this whole blogging thing, I think it’s safe to say that my reading habits have changed. It’s funny because you can tell when I’m planning on writing a review for a book; I have notes, highlights, and a million updates on Goodreads to track my thoughts throughout the reading process. This 100,000% helps me when I need to go back and look at things for reference as I’m writing the review.

By far, the best review I think I’ve ever written was for A Court of Thorns and Roses. I knew that I was going to write a review, so I highlighted like a mad woman. 40+ highlights later, and my review feels solid with quotes included! I’d love to get back to that thoroughness and format for my reviews because it helps me to be an active reader. Flash back to like 6th grade English (at least. I remember it being mentioned before, I think) where they encouraged us to be active readers by taking notes, asking yourself questions, etc, etc. Man I wish I would’ve had this figured it out in high school. It would’ve made reading for classes so much easier.

Anyway, I digress. I’m not going to lie, reading as a reviewer (at least for me) is a lot of work. Especially if you want to write a review that can potentially help someone determine whether or not they want to read a book. That doesn’t make it any less enjoyable, though. I notice more details that I don’t think I would if I were just reading it to read. I remember more from the book, such as Chaol’s favorite food being Boar Stew in Crown of Midnight, which I used as inspiration for one of my Monday Morning Cuppa posts.

That’s not to say that I don’t like just sitting back and allowing the book to transport me into another world without worrying about character development, plot holes, world building, or making sure I take good notes so I don’t forget a thought I wanted to share. I simply have that reprieve from the world for a while.

Do any of your habits change when you’re reading for fun vs. reading as a reviewer? Or do you continue to the same habits to stay in practice? Leave a comment and let me know. (:


Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram

10 thoughts on “Chit Chat | Reading as a Reviewer

    • Carrianne says:

      Agreed! You’ve gotta sound like you know what you’re talking about. I love going back to read my notes too. They’re hilarious and come in handy for other things. I just used a highlighted quote for a meme I’m doing next next week.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Reg | She Latitude says:

    Great post, so much of this resonates with me! I’ve also started using sticky notes, although I haven’t yet utilised Goodreads’ updates function… too lazy to open it and update every time I have a thought, haha. There’s definitely something to be said about being an active reader — it’s made me more critical. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carrianne says:

      Yay I’m glad and thank you! Haha I really don’t blame you for that. If I’m reading on my kindle, it does all the work for me. I just highlight and hit share. lol I definitely agree about being more critical. I’m noticing more and highlighting them to go back and nitpick later, haha. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • rakioddbooks says:

        lol thanks! I meant theories as in theorizing who the bad guy is, or what’s going to happen next or theorizing about the characters’ personalities and true intents. Not super awesome mind-boggling theories about how the book is a commentary on the human condition or stuff.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Carrianne says:

        Oooh. Lol my bad. Mine aren’t that deep either. I did enough of the analytic stuff in my high school English. It was too exhausting. There are probably some super deep theories I’m totally missing. Oopsies.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

