Book Tag | Soundtrack to My Life

I was perusing through Ms. Reg’s blog over @ She Latitude, found thins, and decided to give it a try (since she technically unofficially tagged me. (; ). It was a ton of fun to do, so here we go!

Openening Credits: Favorite Childhood Book

The_Giving_TreeI’m gonna have to go with The Giving Tree by Shel Silvetstein. I loved reading this book in school. The relationship between the boy and tree warms my heart.

Waking Up: A Book that Got You Out of A Reading Slump

ACOTAR cover

ACOTAR by Sarah J. Maas. Before I picked it up, I couldn’t tell you the last time I had read a book. (I’m not counting FSoG.) It snowballed from there and I can’t stop!

School: A Book You Had to Read for School and Ended Up Loving

GreatGatsby423x630The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I read this book as a junior in high school for my AP English Comp. class. I liked it at the time because of how short it was, but then all of the symbolism grew on me. My teacher that year was also was of the most chill teachers I had; we leatned amd discussed things, but didn’t feel the pressure of the impending AP test as we did it.

Falling in Love: An author you love so much you want to read all of their books.

25541351Either Christina Lauren or Sarah J. Maas. I’ve actually currently read all SJM’s books. So I guess that leaves CL, whom are actually two authors. They write the Beautiful Bastard series and Wild Night series, which I have not started. They had a book come out on the 2nd, and a new one releasing on the 29th.

Fight: Book with the best action sequences.

2767052Probably The Hunger Games. There is enough information that you get what is going on, but it isn’t overly gory.

Break up: A book or series you didn’t finish and do not intend to finish.

13101912THE SELECTION by Kiera Cass. Nope. Never. I wasted enough of my life riding the America coaster and I have no intention of doing it again with her daughter, whom I’ve heard is even worse.

Hanging With Friends: Book you think everyone else should read.

305234Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr. I just love it. Fairies, folklore, magic. Yes! I loved Keenan and that Melissa wove a quote from celtic folklore into the start of each chapter. She based everything on that, and I thought it was so cool.

Breakdown: Book that seriously affected you or had you crying your eyes out.

910293Breathing Underwater by Alex Flinn. While I didn’t cry, it sat with me because my best friend at the time was dating a guy who was verbally abusive. Ugh I hated him. I read this and immediately passed it on to her. She loved it because she could relate. I’ve never read anything like it since.

Road Trip: Your favorite series (more than 3 books).

IMG_7580The Wicked Lovely series by Melissa Marr. I love me some ToG, but I feel like it’s so well known. I’m just trying to spread the love. I feel like it’s so underrated. Believe it or not, I haven’t finished the series yet. I’m thinking that I might reread the entire thing. Each book (that I can remember) follows a different character while the others still hang out. My favorite book in the series is probably Ink Exchange. Tattoos and gancanaghs (male fairies that seduce woman and whose touch is literally addictive). Hell yes.

Flashback: Your favorite book from 5 years ago.

5056084Since I don’t want to say Wickedly Lovely again, I’m going to continue with the fairy theme and go with Wings by Aprilynne Pike. I loved the whimsicality of the book as well as the world that she built. I’m currently in the middle of a reread. (:

 

 

 

Getting Back Together: A book you can’t stop rereading.

9780375835339_p0_v1_s260x420Back in 2011, I was newly graduated from high school, and still reeling from the Twilight movies. I’m not going to say that, thought. I’m going with Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. I read this book back when the movie came out and fell in love (Michael Cera wouldn’t be my first choice for Nick). David Levithan’s writing is like crack; it’s just so stinking quotable. I wish I knew about cool underground concerts with hidden clues about their whereabouts. I’m not that cool though…at least not yet. 😉

Wedding: A book that is really special to you.

The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg. This book first made an appearance in my life when I was in second grade. From there, it became a tradition for every Christmas Eve; my dad would read The Night Before Christmas and then read the Polar Express. One of my fondest memories was when the movie came out. My dad took my sister and I to see the movie on Christmas Eve, and then after it was over, we went to Panera Bread for dinner. It was nice. My sister and I don’t usually get time with three of us.

Moment of Triumph: Longest book you’ve ever read.

Breaking_Dawn_coverAs much as I hate to admit it, the longest book that I’ve ever read is Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer. At least that I can remember. I started avidly reading again last year, and since I haven’t finished the Harry Potter series yet, BD takes the cake. I remember needing to go to the library right away so I could get my hands on a copy.

Death Scene: Book or series you wish had ended differently.

Twilight. All of this build up, all of this new stuff happening, and then it was done. It was basically, “And they lived happily ever after for all of eternity.”

Funeral: Book with the best or worst epilogue.

Mockingjay**spoilers** Mockingjay. While I’m content with the the situations at the end of the book, the epilogue left me wanting something more. I get that we don’t really need to read what happens between the end of the last chapter and the start of the epilogue, but I want to know more about how they adjusted to their mini exile and the new government now in place.

 

End Credits: Who do you tag?

Meredith @ Mezzalily’s Teen Book Reviews
Emma @ The Book Brief
Alahna @ The Charmed Reader
Raquel @ Rakiodd Books
C.S. Wilde @  C.S. Wilde.com

You guys don’t have to do it if you’ve already done it or don’t feel up to it. (:

Leave a Reply

