Top Ten Tuesday | Historic/Futuristic Settings

It’s Tuesday, so you know what that means! Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly meme hosted over on The Broke and Bookish. This week’s theme is the “Top Ten Historical Settings You Love/ Ten Historical Settings You’d Love To See or Top Futuristic Books You Love/Ten Futuristic Societies I’d Love To Read in Books.”

I’m rewriting this post because let’s face it, I overthought it the first time around and it just wasn’t very good (at least not in my opinion). So let’s do this!

  1. U.S. Wild West circa late 19th century – One of my favorite family vacations was when we went to South Dakota to see Mount Rushmore. While we were there, I really wanted to check out Deadwood, not knowing the history behind it all, and found that it was probably my favorite thing we did while we were there. I found the whole history with Buffalo Bill and his death intriguing. If I could find a book from that era, or even with Buffalo Bill and Calamity Jane, I think that’d be pretty cool. I haven’t really thought to look for one until now.
  2. Victorian England – I love everything about Victorian England; the clothes, the society, how taboo sexuality is, etc. One of my favorite plays that takes place during that era is The Importance of Being Earnest. From there, I read The Picture of Dorian Gray, also by Oscar Wilde, and currently, I’m looking into starting These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly.
  3. WWII Era England – I have a good idea how things were here in the United States thanks to years of U.S. history in school. I find the whole WWII era interesting, and books like The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe made that time whimsical when in reality, it was far from it. I’ve read some nonfiction books that focus on the Holocaust that occurred during that time, and I found them incredibly interesting. I think it’d be cool to read about it from England’s perspective.
  4. Ancient Greece – I had to read The Odyssey for school and actually really enjoyed it. Plus, Greek mythology. You’re going to find that I have a thing for it. Haha.
  5. Medieval…wherever – I have a morbid curiosity when it comes to medieval torture. It’s horrible, but I just can’t stay away! I remember reading books as a kid where these kids would travel through history in their tree house, and one of those times, they traveled to the medieval period and talked about knights. I’d love to read a fictional book set in that time just to see what someone would do with it.
  6. Ireland – I love Irish folklore, and what I’d like to read particularly, is a novel based on their version of Halloween, or why it was started. They say that the reason why children dress up, is so that children aren’t dragged to hell by the demons (or something like that). What happens if they don’t? Or what happens on that night if they do?
  7. Tudor England – because…Henry VIII. Have you seen the TV show? JRM (aka King Henry) is life. I’m obsessed with this era.
  8. Glass Sword – I liked the idea of the world in the first book with how everyone is separated by blood type (red or silver). I can’t wait to see where she takes it!
  9. United States 2015 (Back to the Future style) – That whole thing was so stinking cool. Flying cars, hoverboards, and dehydrated food? Yes please! If only they would get on it and start coming up with this stuff.
  10. Ancient China – As stupid as this sounds, I think of the Disney movie Mulan when I think of this, or even SoundlessI’d love to know more about their mythology and folklore more than anything. It’s super fascinating to me.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | Historic/Futuristic Settings

Leave a Reply

