Monday Morning Cuppa | Anastasia Steele

Welome to my new monday morning feature, Monday Morning Cuppa! If you’re not aware, ‘cuppa’ is [I think] Irish slang for a cup of tea/coffee, and since it’s part of the namesake of my blog, I had to come up with a feature to incorporate it. So here’s how this is gonna go down.

Every Monday, I’m going to share a tea with you that reminds me of a book or character. That tea then becomes my “currently drinking” tea for the week (you know, in case you miss this post and/or decide later to check it out. πŸ˜‰ ). I’ll explain why it reminds me of the character/book and then throw in a review of the tea at the end of the post. Boom. Two of my loves [hopefully] integrated seamlessly. I’m super excited about this, so let’s jump right in!
img_0593-1

This Week’s Culprit:

Tea: Pomegranate White Tea
Character: Anastasia Steele from FSoG/Grey
Reasoning: White teas in and of themselves are a very delicate tea. You’re supposed to brew them at lower temperatures for shorter periods of time. Anastasia, at least at the start of the book, is delicate and mousy. Especially in the eyes of Christian. He takes great care to make sure that her clumsy ass doesn’t get hurt and treats her like a porcelain doll. Albeit, it’s annoying, but it adds to his whole control freak aspect of his personality.

The other thing that reminded me of Anastsia was the rosy color of the liquor (water once the tea is brewed). In Grey, Christian loves it when Anstasia blushes, so he often tries to make her do so and the color reminds me of that. Granted, the color doesn’t look rosy in the photo, but I promise you, it’s a nice pinky-red color.

The Review

What I like: The color. So many of my teas are brown/black and this is a nice change from that. I love teas that look as pretty as they taste good. Its aroma is on the tart side of things, but that’s attributed to the fact that it’s a pomegranate flavored tea. I’m not complaining.

What I Don’t Like: Unsweetened, I cannot stand the aftertaste of this tea. I started drinking it today without any agave nectar in it and holy moly. Tart city. It tasted like pomegranat juice, which I do not like. (I know, it makes no sense to me either.) I’ve also found that I have to steep it a little longer, which I think is due to the fact that it’s a bagged tea versus loose leaf.

Overall will I purchase this tea again once I finish what I have? Probably not. I like the tea, but not enough to keep a stash in my cupboard. I’ve become a bit of a loose leaf tea snob. ;P

 

4 thoughts on “Monday Morning Cuppa | Anastasia Steele

Leave a Reply

