Critique | Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

15839984

Source: Goodreads

img_0620
2.5 Teacups
Dates Read: August 22nd, 2015 – August 23rd, 2015

I really wanted to like this book, and despite only having a 3 star average rating, I was willing to give it a benefit of the doubt. Then I started reading. At first, I really did not like Nyx. Or her family. It was extremely frustrating to read and I hated the whole, “Why don’t they love me, I hate them” thing…MAKE UP YOUR MIND.

The transition from hating Ignifex to loving him was weird/non-existent. One minute she hates him, the next she’s suddenly in love with him and he with her. It made me feel like she loved him just because he told her the same. However, I loved Ignifex. I thought he was mysterious and charming, despite the fact that he’s supposed to be this evil, deceitful, demon. Unsurprisingly, he wasn’t so much. He was actually fairly kind to her despite his namesake.

Nyx? I understood why she harbored so much hate in her heart, I did. I just wish she would stick with her feelings or at least come to terms with them. If you’re going to be a “Cruel Beauty,” be a fricking cruel beauty.

Then to add icing to the cake, the ending was absolutely infuriating.  Why was throwing in an alternate universe/time travel necessary? It was confusing and not explained well at all. I wasn’t sure what had still occurred and what had changed and it was just too much. I feel like the ending was kind of haphazardly thrown together to make sure that everyone got the ending they deserved.

I’m not a fan of this one at all. If you are, more power to you, but I personally would not recommend this book. I much prefer ACOTAR despite the slow start. I feel like the characters are more likable and the story is executed better. I will not be reading any more books in the Cruel Beauty series.

Leave a Reply

