Critique | Unwind by Neal Shusterman

Dates Read: October 21st, 2015 – October 23rd, 2015

img_0615
4 Teacups

unwind

Source: Simon & Schuster Canada

I really enjoyed this book and the whole concept of parents having their “troubled kids”unwound. Would I ever wish it on someone or do it to my own child? No, but it was an interesting idea that Neal Shusterman dealt with nicely.

I liked the idea of not knowing what happens when you’re unwound and the air of mystery surrounding it as a result. I thought the chapter where we read Roland’s unwinding was going to be satisfying, but instead I found it deeply disturbing. I was literally left speechless. He was unwound and no one cared or mentioned it. Even when Connor wound up with one of Roland’s arms (which I am <i>not</i> ok with by the way), they didn’t spend a ton of time on it. Didn’t even bat an eye. It just, no.

Overall, I’d recommend the book. It’s a good sci-fi dystopian book with a pinch of horror thrown in.

One thought on “Critique | Unwind by Neal Shusterman

Leave a Reply

