A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

If he was a faerie, I should already be running.

Dates Read: August 4th, 2015 – August 7th, 2015

img_0618
4.5 Teacups

ACOTAR cover

Source: SJMASS Livejournal

Synopsis: Feyre is a 19-year-old girl who lives with her father and two sisters. One day, while she was out hunting, she sees and kills a wolf, who, unknown to her, is a faerie. (It could’ve gone either way.) The following night, a faerie appears at their home and says that she either comes to live with him forever, or she has to die. She chooses to live with him. At first, she’s distrustful, but eventually becomes comfortable with her “captor,” Tamlin, and his court (his friend and emissary Lucien, his servants, etc.), eventually falling in love with him. Then, the truth about his predicament comes into light, and Feyre is fighting for the one she loves in a place she’d never imagine that she’d be.

A few quick points:

1. It starts off a bit slow, but during this time there’s a ton of worldbuilding and backstory happening.

2. I love all of the characters, even if her family dynamic at first frustrated me to no end. I don’t understand how you can put your survival on one person’s shoulders.

3. I like Tamlin, but I totally ship Rhysand and Feyre. I just liked that dynamic so much more. Yes, he used her, but so did Tamlin in a way. They all needed her to be rid of Amarantha.

4. The world building and character development was beautiful. Maas left little to no questions unanswered and made the pieces of the puzzle fall together seamlessly.

5. What length is Tam’s hair? I don’t think it was ever mentioned. Lucien’s is longer, but all I know about Tam’s is that it’s golden.

6. My favorite part was Calanmai, or that night rather. It made me giggle with glee.

7. The last half-third of the book was fantastic. So much information coming together.

8. The ending wrapped things up nicely, although the big moment that the book built up was somewhat anti-climactic. I can’t wait to see where the series goes.

That’s it for non-spoilers section. If you want to read more in depth thoughts, keep reading.

Plot

I honestly had no idea which direction the plot was going to go. Keeping in mind that this was a beauty and the beast retelling, I expected the cause of the blight to come into fruition at some point and then it all gets settled. Never did I imagine things to go down the way they did. Holy crap. Although I do have to admit, the book started out slow for me and it wasn’t until maybe a third of the way through that I finally got into the story and wasn’t annoyed by Feyre. Once she returned to Prythian and Alis told her the truth about the Curse and why Tamlin did everything he did, the pace picked up immensely.

I have over 40 highlights and notes to make sure that I remembered important pieces of information. There is, indeed, a lot to remember, but Maas reiterates everything so nicely and at the perfect time that you go, “I remember that, it all makes sense now!” instead of “When the hell did that happen?”

In comparison to the B&B, it has all of the similar characteristics: a beauty, a beast, a curse, the servants, another man vying for Feyre’s attention, and a villain, among other things, but I don’t want to spoil anything. It still maintains its own identity not only because it’s about faeries, but because there is so much more to the story than what we see in disney’s version (I honestly haven’t looked at it outside of that). Maas builds a beautiful backstory behind the blight and why “She” is who she is. There weren’t a whole lot of questions left unanswered for me there. I’m a little disappointed that I figured out the riddle right off the bat and it took Feyre until she was on the floor dying to know the answer (love. DUH.). Although if she had figured it out, we wouldn’t have gotten to know Rhysand, or had the jaw dropping moment when they pulled the hood off the third faerie to reveal Tamlin, or had her figure out that the last part of the curse was his heart of stone (sound like Beauty and the Beast?). I wish she would’ve drawn out Amarantha’s death a little or had more of a fight. It was just like, ‘I have my powers, now you die.’ Boom. Done. For a scene that’s been built up to so much, it was extremely anti-climactic. At least in the disney movie, there were fireworks.

My favorite part of the book was Calanmai. There’s just something about the Rite that’s so…sexy but it’s also amusing because that’s the way they rejuvenate their magic for the land. I mean, hello, he takes in an insane amount of power into his body and literally bangs the magic out of “the Maiden” to regenerate the land for spring.

From their coupling, magic will be released and spread to the earth, where it will regenerate life for the year to come.

Then the whole part with Tamlin that night. Both Tamlin and Lucien told her to stay in her room and lock the door until morning. That includes 2 or 3AM when she got up for a “snack” and runs into Tamlin in the hall.

“I smelled you,” he breathed, his painted chest rising and falling so close to mine. “I searched for you, and you weren’t there.”

He bites her neck, she yearns for him, and the following morning she emerges with a bruise on her neck. When Lucien asked about it, Tamlin showed no remorse.

“…if Feyre can’t be bothered to listen to orders, then I can’t be held accountable for the consequences.”

I just…the whole idea of it makes me giggle, but I definitely enjoyed it. Hehe

Ending

I liked the way most things were wrapped up nicely with a bow. I definitely have more questions that need answers that I’m sure will be answered later. Or at least I hope. Overall though, if you enjoy fae stories and retellings, I’d recommend this. It’s got some action, some sexiness, and a story that, while it may take a while to reel you in, will keep you turning the page to see what happens once it gets going.

Characters

I think there was a great deal of character development for everyone. Not only for Feyre and Tamlin, obviously, but most surprisingly for her sister Nesta. We find out that she isn’t the prestine little princess we thought she was and the reasoning behind her resentment was that she truly hated her father and wanted him to go out and do something for the family. Although her father’s utter lack of…anything for his daughters was unnerving. I couldn’t believe that he allowed himself to become so dejected that he’d let his family starve. Thankfully, they all had Feyre. *rolls eyes*

I wish that we knew more about Rhysand, which I’m sure we’ll find out in upcoming books. He just…appears out of nowhere during Calanmai and saves her. Her handsome savior.

”Thank you for finding her for me,” my savior said to them, smooth and polished. “Enjoy the Rite.”

I love how he helped her during her trials Under the Mountain, unbeknownst to her, by making a bargain with her. The tattoo on her linked her to him, giving him the ability to communicate with her wordlessly during her trials. He first said that it was because he was bored, but really he just wanted Amarantha gone as much as anyone else. And can we talk about how he mated with her at the end??? I cannot wait to see how that all plays out.

As for everyone else, I feel I know them pretty well. The pieces of Tamln’s story came together through others because of disability to tell her what was going on. Amarantha told us a bit more about Lucien I think, or it was Alis, I already forgot. But things were explained.


Follow me on Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram

8 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

    • Carrianne says:

      Ohmigosh I know exactly what you mean! I might be in the minority here, but I totally love Rhys and Feyre together. Can’t wait to see where everything goes. I highly recommend the ToG series. It’s a good one to hold you over. Celaena is awesomeeee.

      Like

      • meredithreadsya says:

        I liked Rhys and Feyre’s relationship because she knew he was using her whereas she didn’t with Tamlin, but I really feel as if it should be Tamlin and Fyre together, especially after Chapter 27 🙂

        Like

      • Carrianne says:

        Exactly! He was straightfoward (although Tamlin couldn’t tell her what was going on) *sigh* I couldn’t remember what happened in that chapter, so I went back to check. Right there I had it highlighted. haha I think that was one of my favorite chapters.

        Like

      • meredithreadsya says:

        It was one of my’n two, I was smiling throughout as well as the Calanmai and all the little remarks they made towards each other it made me so happy 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

